Header Image
Course Open
Brief Club Histories & Captains
 
Ashton-in-Makerfield Golf Club

The early years of any golf club are always interesting and they usually bear testimony to the endeavour and enthusiasm of a small group of golfers. It is easy to forget that although golf was seen to be an elitist sport when most of our clubs were formed there were not many people with deep pockets to finance the purchase and upkeep of a course and clubhouse. Most, if not all, of our clubs are indebted to an original “few” and Ashton is no exception.

The co-founders of Ashton-in-Makerfield were Tom Mayall and Andrew Molyneux who set up a 9 hole course for the staff of Garswood Hall Collieries. Their chosen site was adjacent to the Colliery at Old Bryn and in 1902 a meeting of 15 enthusiasts agreed to proceed. All went well until 1906 when their clubhouse, the size of a small bungalow, was burnt down but nothing daunted, they built a larger one and carried on playing. In 1946 the members had the good fortune and good sense to buy the land from the Colliery for £750 and this decision was to prove to be the salvation of the club.

Those old enough to remember the World War of 1939/45 will recall the post-war years when everything was in short supply and essential goods were rationed. Coal was particularly in demand and not enough could be produced from the mines to meet the needs of our homes and industry. It was discovered that coal could be retrieved from just below the surface in certain areas and this led to a widespread devastation of the landscape when open cast mining was introduced. Old Bryn was a natural target and in the late 1950s a golf course was deemed easy pickings. The 9 holes were reduced to 6 and the final bombshell arrived in 1961 when Lancashire County Council threatened a Compulsory Purchase Order for the whole site. Like many such disasters, this turned out to be a blessing in disguise.

Careful negotiations with the County Council produced a compensation package of £28,900 and an even better bargain was achieved when Lord Gerard agreed to sell 60 acres of his Garswood Hall Estate for £5,000. This enabled the members to construct a new 9 hole course on the present site which was opened when the Captain drove in on 16 October 1965. Hawtree & Son were the Golf Course Architects and they were also appointed in 1974 when the course was extended to 18 holes. The extra 50 acres of land had previously been leased to the National Coal Board who agreed a surrender, thus allowing the club to buy it from Lord Gerard. A major building project saw the present Clubhouse completed in 1996 at a cost of £340,000 - far removed from it’s original form in 1902 and showing the effects of inflation because the tender for the Garswood Park Clubhouse in 1965 was only £14,900. Current members can now enjoy the benefits laid down by Lord Gerard in the 19th century when he planted species of trees from every country in the British Empire. His legacy is a golf course often described as a miniature Wentworth where precision driving is essential.

In April 1953 the club applied and was admitted into the Society of Liverpool Golf Captains. Harold Winstanley, Captain of Ashton in 1966, was the first from his club to be appointed Captain of the Society in 1985/86 and was later President of the Lancashire Union of Golf Clubs in 1988/89. Dennis Boardman, Captain of Ashton in 1987, was the second from his Club to be appointed Captain of the Society in 2003/04.

CAPTAINS OF ASHTON-IN-MAKERFIELD GOLF CLUB
1902 A  Molyneux
1903 A  Molyneux
1904 A H Bell
1905 W A Gilby 
1906 F Edmondson
1907 J W Mayall 
1908 J H Edmondson
1909  J H Edmondson 
1910  J H Edmondson 
1911  J H Edmondson 
1912  J H Edmondson 
1913  J H Edmondson 
1914  J H Edmondson
1915  J H Edmondson 
1916  J H Edmondson 
1917  J H Edmondson 
1918  J H Edmondson 
1919 T S Mayall
1920  T S Mayall 
1921  T S Mayall 
1922  T S Mayall
1923  F V Waddington 
1924  F V Waddington 
1925  F V Waddington 
1926  E Bullough 
1927  E W Stephenson 
1928  E W Stephenson 
1929  H T Pigot 
1930  E Marsh 
1931  W L Thomson 
1932  W Walker 
1933  J G Gray 
1934  J G Gray 
1935  T Crompton 
1936  T Crompton 
1937  E Hindley 
1938  H G Whitehead 
1939  J G Gray 
1940  J G Gray 
1941  J G Gray 
1942  J G Gray 
1943  J G Gray 
1944  J G Gray 
1945  J G Gray 
1946  W Jackson 
1947  W Jackson  
1948  W Jackson  
1949  H Speakman 
1950  H Speakman 
1951  E Halliwell 
1952  A French 
1953  W H Spencer 
1954  W Jackson 
1955  W Jackson 
1956  H H Elce 
1957  H H Elce 
1958  F S Dickinson 
1959  S Hughes 
1960  L K Pilling 
1961  J Ward 
1962 G W Hampson
1963  L K Pilling 
1964  F S Dickinson 
1965  S Hughes 
1966  H Winstanley 
1967  J Holland 
1968  F Dean 
1969  K W Griffiths 
1970  T F Vincent 
1971  T Ashby 
1972  G Lyon 
1973  F Aspinwall 
1974  G E Hewitson 
1975  H Pedley 
1976  J R Jones 
1977  H Hardman 
1978  K Sudworth 
1979  F Wilkinson 
1980  W Cunliffe 
1981  L Hewitson 
1982  K Pendlebury-Green 
1983  J Taylor 
1984  W Lowe 
1985  F Moran 
1986  K Wood 
1987  D J Boardman 
1988  G F Simpkin 
1989  T Rose 
1990  A Tushingham 
1991  S Smith 
1992  R Brisco 
1993  F W Howgate 
1994  D Thompson 
1995  G Darbyshire 
1996  J Fairbrother 
1997  C A Brand 
1998  J Simm 
1999  G Hall 
2000  W Steele 
2001  J R Hurst 
2002  D Pendlebury-Green 
2003  A W Clift 
2004  N Pickersgill 
2005  R Miller 
2006  D Heyes 
2007  N W Shutler 
2008  R Hilton 
2009  J Rigby 
2010  J C Birchall 
2011  L B Cross 
2012  C M Hulme 
2013  I Jones 
2014  E Taylor 
2015  T Hateley-Lowe 
2016  L McNally 
2017  M J Bohannon 
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Bidston Golf Club

On 24 May 1913 a meeting took place at the Grove Hotel, Wallasey where members of three local golfing societies, Grove, Warren and West Wirral, met to discuss their logistical problems of having to play their golf on the congested 9 holes of the Warren Municipal.  They agreed to combine their resources and lease a piece of land between Leasowe Road and the River Fender to form a new 9 hole course. Within three months the new club was ready for action and on 16 August 1913 the first Captain, S Forsythe, drove off to inaugurate Bidston Golf Club.

Ten years later the club leased a further piece of land between the railway and the River Fender and in 1924 the course was extended to 15 holes. In the following year the course became a full 18 holes which was to remain unchanged until World War II. Like many other courses Bidston had to sacrifice some of its land for farming and 15 acres were given over to the local farmers for ploughing and sowing oats. In the early 1950s the construction of the Leasowe housing estate caused the loss of the view over the sand-hills but, conversely, provided an access which alleviated the problem of members relying on railway staff to open the level crossing gates at Bidston station.

The construction of the M53 Motorway in the late 1960’s deprived the club of 20 acres of land and the course layout had to be changed. Compensation for the loss of the land helped the club to maintain its facilities which had taken a serious blow following a disastrous clubhouse fire in 1972. However, the future of the club was secured in 1992 when the members were able to purchase the lease of the land and in the following year a new entrance from Bidston Link Road was opened. This allowed the club to close off the Scoresby Road access to all but pedestrians thus eliminating the annoyance of vehicular traffic crossing the course. The development of several plantations of trees has helped to restore the character and definition of the course.

Bidston was not amongst the 20 clubs listed in the Society records for 1939 and it is assumed that they joined around 1949. They have had strong links with the administration of the Society in two eras, the most recent being through the Immediate Past Honorary Secretary and Treasurer, Eddy Hampson. The Society is indebted to Eddy for his hard work and also to the staff of Bidston Golf Club who provided the back-up secretarial facilities. Bill Lodge was Captain of Bidston in 1950 and 1951 and served as the Society Treasurer for 7 years before he was elected Society Captain in 1958/59. Doug Cox was the second Bidston Captain to serve as Captain of the Society in 1998/99 and has served on the Committee for many years.

 

CAPTAINS OF BIDSTON GOLF CLUB 
1913 S Forsythe 
1914  S Forsythe
1915  S Forsythe 
1916  C H Drake 
1917  E T Tetley 
1918  A Evans 
1919  J W Newsome 
1920  A C Tetley 
1921  W H Richards 
1922  C F Bier 
1923  D R Davies 
1924  G Gourley 
1925  C Collard 
1926  J P Crooke 
1927  W A Walker 
1928  E Totty 
1929  J Samuel 
1930  H E Taylor 
1931  D Kirkpatrick 
1932  H Birley 
1933  H Stewart 
1934  R Hogg 
1935  E W Carr 
1936  C H Fry 
1937  J A Devlin 
1938  W O Hannaford 
1939  C L Kemp 
1940  C L Kemp
1941  C L Kemp 
1942  C L Kemp
1943  C L Kemp 
1944  C L Kemp
1945  C L Kemp 
1946  S J O'Connell
1947  W A Eilbeck 
1948  G E Denson 
1949  W J Jones 
1950  W Lodge 
1951  W Lodge 
1952  G V Carlyle 
1953  G W P Shaw 
1954  R Y Knagg 
1955  B Murphy 
1956  B Murphy 
1957  W Jones 
1958  W H Connerton 
1959  W H Connerton 
1960  J L Richardson
1961  E C Williams 
1962  J D Hislop 
1963  M D Jackson 
1964  E D Jones 
1965  D E Williams 
1966  P Kennerley 
1967  W E Daniels 
1968  W E Daniels
1969   N C Bragg
1970  C J Clissold 
1971  T Cole 
1972  W E Leigh 
1973  R Worsnip 
1974  T Doherty 
1975  S Davenport 
1976  G J W Moss 
1977  P G Bargery 
1978  G S Weatherilt 
1979  F C Jones 
1980  E J Clare 
1981  S I Scrimshaw 
1982  D A Tew 
1983  J J Tracey 
1984  W G Broster 
1985  D Cox 
1986  F Taylor 
1987  E Miller 
1988  J L Forbes 
1989  G H Mackey 
1990  B L Voller 
1991  J Milton 
1992  R T E Atkin 
1993  G C Totty 
1994  R W Melvin 
1995  D Simcoe 
1996 N W Reid 
1997  E Hampson 
1998  E W Cull 
1999  T C Birkett 
2000 J G Daly 
2001  J P Kinder 
2002  W P Colebourne 
2003  M Gerrie 
2004  S C T Jones 
2005  J E Morris 
2006  R H Woods 
2007  N G Vasper 
2008  G M Harvey 
2009  C J Taylor 
2010  R Brooks 
2011  G Cockroft 
2012  M James 
2013  S C T Jones 
2014  J R Smith 
2015  T Birks
2016  B L Voller 
2017  D Parsons 
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 

 
Bromborough Golf Club

Like many golf clubs, the early days of Bromborough are not accurately recorded. Their Centenary book refers to a meeting at a Bromborough school in 1903 at which a plan was agreed to form a club on a 9 hole course that had been built by the Hassall family who were local farmers. It was decided that the annual subscription should be one guinea and the initial membership target of 100 was soon reached. In 1904 a local landowner, Major Herbert Lancelyn Green, was elected as the first Captain and in the following year his daughter became the first Captain of the Ladies Section.

The Hassall family were tenants of the Earl of Shrewsbury who owned the land and who subsequently sold it to William Hesketh Lever in 1911. He later became the first Viscount Leverhulme whose interest in golf continued through three successive Viscount Leverhulmes until the death of the last holder of the title in 2000. William Hesketh Lever was elected the first club President in 1912 and the Presidency continued through William Hulme Lever and Philip William Bryce Lever the second and third Viscounts. William Hulme Lever was Captain for three successive years from 1920 to 1922 and Philip William Lever was Captain in 1949. The latter generously donated two acres of land to the club on which to build a new Clubhouse. The Leverhulme estates still own most of the land through a family Trust.

Golf was suspended during the first World War and in 1915 the old clubhouse was converted by the Red Cross into a military hospital. It was fitted out with some of the most modern equipment available at that time with accommodation for an average of 160 beds. A total of 1,245 patients were treated at the hospital before it was handed back to the golf club in 1919.

The restoration of the golf course after the war coincided with its expansion from 9 to 18 holes and the clubhouse, built after the original had been destroyed by fire in 1910, was extended and improved. The club enjoyed a period of relative stability until war again intervened in 1939. This time the impact was even more severe due to its proximity to Hooton aerodrome and the whole course was lost to the war effort. Concrete roads were constructed to build a base for the American forces and the course was used as a build-up for the D-Day landings in France.

Britain’s first motorways were built in 1955 and golf courses were prime targets for the new routes. In the late 1960’s Huyton & Prescot and Bromborough simultaneously lost land to their respective local authorities and both were fortunate to be compensated with new land and new holes designed by Hawtree & Son. Bromborough lost four holes to the M53 and was temporarily reduced to 15 holes until re-opening in its present form in 1972. Good course management and tree planting since then have created one of the most testing courses on the Wirral, producing some outstanding men and women golfers and being regularly used by The Cheshire County Union for its competitions.

Bromborough was a founder member of the Society and has produced three Captains, Frank Hayes (1964/65), Harry Wellings (1981/82) and David Kerr (1994/95).

CAPTAINS OF BROMBOROUGH GOLF CLUB
1904 H L Green
1905 H L Green
1906 R Johnson
1907 R Johnson 
1908 Z I Bradbury 
1909 C H Bushell 
1910 W S Williamson 
1911 S G Wood
1912  S M Hutchinson 
1913  H Montgomery 
1914  W Johnston 
1915  W Johnston  
1916  W Johnston  
1917  W Johnston  
1918  W Johnston  
1919  W Johnston  
1920  Hon W Hulme Lever 
1921  Hon W Hulme Lever  
1922   Hon W Hulme Lever 
1923  T S Fogg 
1924  H F Fernie 
1925  L Ravenscroft 
1926  J A Bewley 
1927  G S MacKay 
1928  F Buckley 
1929  G A L Green 
1930  A J Hodgson 
1931  J E Gordon 
1932  F J Baslam 
1933  R F Hindle 
1934  A Davies 
1935  H G Alexander 
1936  W Lees Evans 
1937  J Wilson 
1938  L O B Harding 
1939  D G H Jones 
1940  D G H Jones  
1941  D G H Jones  
1942  D G H Jones  
1943  D G H Jones  
1944  D G H Jones  
1945  D G H Jones 
1946  D G H Jones  
1947  D G H Jones  
1948  D G H Jones  
1949  Hon P W Lever 
1950  J E Hassall 
1951  G Wallace 
1952  F D Hayes 
1953  T T Lunt 
1954  C Dalzell 
1955  W N Stokoe 
1956  W G Cheshire 
1957  R D Dowell 
1958  M F Yarwood 
1959  R G French 
1960  H W Morgan 
1961  G B Brigham 
1962  T Kennan 
1963  L Harrison 
1964 W Fairclough
1965  J R Dodds 
1966  W Lomas 
1967  A M Moult 
1968  H Wellings 
1969  F Aspden 
1970  C W Hancock 
1971  C H Mohin 
1972  E P Lancashire 
1973  W H Jones 
1974  L R Graham 
1975  J Harper 
1976  H Nicholson 
1977  N F Nathanson 
1978  Dr D B Kerr 
1979  E A Kimpton 
1980  T H Griffiths 
1981  M Robertson 
1982  N M Edwards 
1983  P E Jones 
1984  A Smith 
1985  L H Anderson 
1986  C A Abbott 
1987  G A Hughes 
1988  J W Horrigan 
1989  J Neville 
1990  A Rimmer 
1991  J Forbes 
1992  R J Taylor 
1993  T Collins 
1994  A P Brady 
1995  K D Bowman 
1996  N H Withers 
1997  D M Griffiths 
1998  Dr M R O'Neill 
1999  D A Griffiths 
2000  W H Range 
2001  A S Mackay 
2002  W Lally 
2003  C J Garrett 
2004  B D Gainer 
2005  J P Jones 
2006  T D Holmes 
2007  D Faulkner 
2008  P J Stones 
2009  G W Scott 
2010  R J Evans 
2011  D H Munro 
2012  P Darch 
2013 J J Colligan 
2014  M G Heathfield 
2015  H Dawson
2016  J Graham 
2017  R Newnes 
   
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Caldy Golf Club



Caldy Manor Estate Limited was formed in 1906 to purchase and develop the 600 acres of heath and farmland known as Caldy Manor. The Company planned to create a pleasant residential village with only one shop and individual building plots of at least one acre. A golf course was deemed to be an attractive amenity for residents and their friends and Jack Morris, the first professional at the nearby Royal Liverpool Golf Club, was paid a fee of one and a half guineas to design the 9 holes. All of the holes were to the West of the railway line with the River Dee as the other main boundary.

The first meeting of the Golf Committee was held on 31 July 1907 and it decided that the club should be a private one and that the original shareholders should be Life Members. Ladies should be permitted to use the course under the usual conditions imposed by local clubs. Sunday play was not permitted for many years and then only after 12.30pm and the clubhouse was not open for refreshments. It was 25 years before the first bar was introduced in 1932 for the sale of intoxicating liquors.

In 1908 a cottage style clubhouse was built near to the present 6th green and is still clearly recognisable as part of the private house now adjacent to the 7th tee. In 1909 the club contributed to the cost of building a new railway station nearby and this was to prove a popular means of transport for members and visitors. It was not until 1925 that the men had the use of a locker room, built as a separate structure to the east of the clubhouse.  The ladies had to wait until the early 1950s to get theirs on the opposite side.

By 1920 the Estate Company had agreed to allow the golfers to run their own affairs and o ered to rent the land to them. The following year a private Members club was formed with membership limited to 200 Full Members and 100 Lady Associates. In 1923 the Estate Company offered to sell the 50 acres of land and the clubhouse and this offer was accepted. A further 50 acres on the other side of the railway were bought in 1929 and James Braid was commissioned to design an additional 9 holes. His fee of 10 guineas proved to be money well spent and in 1931 the club became an 18 hole course.

The crumbling cliffs along the River Dee boundary have been a concern for many years and remedial work has been expensive and, hopefully, successful. A further protection for the future has been the astute purchase of extra land which also enabled the clubhouse to be moved to its present site in 1974. A major upgrade in 1998 created a fine clubhouse to match an enjoyable golf course in a superb location.

Although the club celebrated its Centenary in 2007 its Captains are only listed from 1920 when it became a private Members club. Prior to that date it would appear that the office of Captain was not filled annually and only two names are recorded.  There is also uncertainty as to when the club joined the Society of Liverpool Golf Captains and the first time that Caldy appears in the Minute Book is 1949. Despite this late entry into the Society, Caldy has made up for lost time having produced four Society Captains, Ken Adams (1961/62), David Evans (1977/78), Jack Ormrod (1991/92) and most recently Philip Bailey (2015/16).

CAPTAINS OF CALDY GOLF CLUB
1920 A O Lowry
1921 A O Lowry
1922 H Williamson
1923 F Brocklehurst
1924 F Brocklehurst
1925 C A Wallworth
1926 A H Steinthal
1927 R Wilson
1928 H K Holden
1929 A E Brown
1930 A E Brown
1931 F B Brown
1932 J M Marshall
1933 J L Hagger
1934 W Mitchell
1935 D Mathieson
1936 E G Miller
1937 W T Deacon
1938 J Dyer Simpson
1939 J Dyer Simpson
1940 J Dyer Simpson
1941 J Dyer Simpson
1942 J Dyer Simpson
1943 J Dyer Simpson
1944 E S Doran
1945 E S Doran
1946 E S Doran
1947 E O Morris
1948 K Adams
1949 P A Goodwin
1950 J W G Purser
1951 C Hilton Spence
1952 G L Grant
1953 H E Anderson
1954 P S Cooper
1955 T D Woods
1956 D W Evans
1957 F Huth Jackson
1958 M W Coventry
1959 C S Brown
1960 J T Jones
1961 J D Neal
1962 G Elston
1963 R H Campbell
1964 C B Burrows
1965 C A Steinthal
1966 A D Sheppley
1967 N M Quayle
1968 B F Holden
1969 R C M Reid
1970 J R Spencer
1971 R P Booth
1972 B M Frazer
1973 G D Scarrow
1974 A L Speight
1975 A R Widdowson
1976 J L Filer
1977 W H Taverner
1978 E J Ormrod
1979 J M Shennan
1980 G M Hehir
1981 G I Crutchley
1982 J W Bolton
1983 D W Norman
1984 K W Stafford
1985 R G Roberts
1986 R B Ellison
1987 J M Mickle
1988 A E Proffitt
1989 G Latham
1990 J Meecham
1991 R F Dulson
1992 M Garrett
1993 P J Pugh
1994 R Simm
1995 R W Fairclough
1996 J J Marchbank
1997 N H Ellis
1998 P M Bailey
1999 R W Walker
2000 P A Chesham
2001 H Pearson
2002 W F S Neillie
2003 D J Payne
2004 R H Carruthers
2005 B S McCartney
2006 D A R Reid
2007 R J Beswick
2008 P W H Stafford
2009 A J Almond
2010 I C Free
2011 P R D Humphrey
2012 R J Diprose
2013  N Wilson 
2014  M R Pennington 
2015  M L Hayman
2016  A Bickerstaffe 
2017  D Crinson 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

 

Back to top of page

 

 
Childwall Golf Club

Childwall Golf Club has occupied three sites and has undergone three name changes since its formation in 1912. It started life as a nine hole course on the meadows bounded by Speke Road, Watergate Lane and Macketts Lane. The course was owned by Peter McGuffie, a wealthy ship owner, who had bought Woolton Hall, a former Molyneux family country house and opened it as the Woolton Hall Hydro Hotel. He built the golf course for the benefit of his family and the Hotel guests and in 1912 a group known as the Hydro Links players was formed and were allowed to use some rooms in the stable block. On 15 March 1913 they changed their name to the Woolton Hall Hydro Golf Club.

When the Hotel closed in 1915 the golfers operated the course under licence and in 1917 they obtained a five year lease and dropped the word Hydro from the title. At the expiry of the lease on 31 December 1921 the Council was unable to agree satisfactory terms with the McGuffie family and in the following year they found a new site leasing 52 acres from the Marquess of Salisbury. In May 1922 the name was changed to The Childwall Golf Club and twelve holes were opened followed by another six holes constructed two years later on an extra 24 acres of land.

In 1935 a new Town Planning scheme, plus the desire of Lord Salisbury to dedicate part of the course as a site for a voluntary Hospital, caused another change of location. This proved to be the defining moment in the club’s history because the members were able to raise £8,000 to purchase the 204 acres Holt Hall Farm estate and to instruct James Braid to design the 18 hole layout. In 1938 W H Baines, the Town Clerk of Liverpool, laid the foundation stone of the new Art Deco style clubhouse which was formally opened by the Lord Mayor on 10 June 1939. The forecast at that time was that one day the course would be one of the finest parkland courses in the area, an accurate prediction.

Childwall’s initial application to join the Society was rebuffed on 17 June 1926 when the Committee met at 6 pm on the day of the Annual Competition.  The record in the Minute Book states “It was regretted that the application from Childwall GC for membership could not be entertained.  The Committee did not see their way to increase the numbers”. As only 45 cards were taken out that day and 36 men sat down to dinner this would appear to have been a surprising decision. One can only speculate that the Committee might have been anxious to get back to the bar rather than have a long deliberation on the merits of Childwall’s case! However, a second application coupled with Grange Park on 2 May 1931 met with a more favourable response.

Childwall has produced three Society Captains, Jack Stanway Johnson (1962/63), George Morrow (1978/79) and John McAuley (2004/05). Jack Stanway Johnson played a signifcant role in the development of the Society having served as Honorary Secretary/Treasurer for a period of 35 years. Following his retirement he was elected as Honorary Life President of the Society and in the following year he presented a trophy bearing his name.

CAPTAINS OF CHILDWALL GOLF CLUB
1913  H H Longhurst 
1914  H H Longhurst  
1915  A E Noon 
1916  E Harrison 
1917  E Harrison  
1918  E Harrison  
1919  E Harrison  
1920  T Blake 
1921  G Henshaw 
1922  E Ward 
1923  W Treneman
1924  J F Taylor
1925  C E Williams 
1926  H E Cubley 
1927  D Downey 
1928  D C Sloss 
1929  J G Petrie 
1930  D C Sloss 
1931  S H Foreman 
1932  S H Foreman 
1933  J P Green 
1934  G A Strong 
1935  J R Green 
1936  G W Robertson 
1937  G W Robertson 
1938  A F Bennett 
1939  A F Bennett 
1940  A F Bennett  
1941  C T Doyle
1942  C T Doyle
1943  C T Doyle 
1944  T Roberts 
1945  T Roberts  
1946  T Roberts 
1947  F Heap 
1948  F Heap 
1949  J Melville 
1950  I Legge 
1951  I Legge 
1952  L Hobson 
1953  L Hobson 
1954  J Stanway Johnson 
1955  L W Lewis 
1956  E Lunt 
1957  J O Preston 
1958  W V Hurst 
1959  H D Hughes 
1960  D J Dennehy 
1961  H S Jennins 
1962  A L Knipe 
1963  S E Smith 
1964  G Haslam 
1965  A Metcalf 
1966  G E Williams 
1967  G E Morrow 
1968  G H Roberts 
1969  G H Roberts 
1970  C W Walton 
1971  T M Brown 
1972  P T Stephenson 
1973 C J C Haimes 
1974  A J Neale 
1975  G R Byrne 
1976  H G O'Kane 
1977  N E McCormack 
1978  J Chambers 
1979  A Mackenzie 
1980  S J Bradbrook 
1981  D C Elliott 
1982  A W Booth 
1983  I G Bogle 
1984  P M Kinloch 
1985  P H Critchley 
1986  W J Williams 
1987  K Hall 
1988  J H McAuley 
1989  B Hannaby 
1990  L W Kirk 
1991  D N Booth 
1992  A Doherty 
1993  C W Scarisbrick 
1994  S Huxtable 
1995  S E Murphy 
1996  J D McMillan 
1997  A J Rawlinson 
1998  R J Worsley 
1999  D S Williams 
2000  T B Lawrence 
2001  S J Tamlin 
2002  E Hogan 
2003  J D Cunningham 
2004  A H Gardner 
2005  A Gibson 
2006  Dr R B Jones 
2007  A F Croxford 
2008  G R Ferguson 
2009  L M Lee
2010  G J Pate 
2011  W E Maitland  
2012  P C Quinn
2013  G Callaghan 
2014  S A Landon 
2015  T Gibson 
2016  J E Birchall 
2017  J A Turner 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

 

Back to top of page

 
Dean Wood Golf Club

On 4 January 1922 a meeting took place in the Orrell Council Offices when it was resolved that a golf club be formed and that it should be known as the Dean Wood Golf Club.

Later meetings took place in the more informal surroundings of the Abbey Lakes Hotel and the Stag Inn. Subscriptions were initially fixed at £2 for men and £1 for ladies. The Chairman of the first meeting was Mr R O Hall who subsequently became the first Captain of the club.

In the absence of proper facilities the original members had to make do with nails driven into an oak tree but fairly soon a wooden clubhouse was built at a cost of £175. It was constructed on the site of the present greenkeeper’s bungalow by the 13th tee but was later replaced by a new two storey clubhouse off Lafford Lane. This in turn was demolished in the late 1980s to make way for the present clubhouse.

Like many golf courses Dean Wood was constructed with 9 holes which started on the present 13th hole and finished at the present 12th. In 1932 it was decided to extend the course to 18 holes and James Braid was commissioned to design the extra 9 holes. It is said that he saved the life of the crucial oak tree on the second hole for which he should be remembered with gratitude.

A handbook published in 1933 described the course and its surroundings as follows:

“The course itself offers an excellent day’s golf made all the more enjoyable by some splendid views and a bracing atmosphere. For the first few holes the quaint old village of Upholland is constantly in view but beyond number 5 one feels that the real open country has been reached and with it some of the finest views in the district. On the one hand is rolling well-wooded country stretching to Rivington and its surrounding hills of Anglezarke, whilst on the other hand is the Billinge-Ashurst Ridge, with St Joseph’s College standing out prominently. In between, the Douglas Valley presents a pretty picture.”

Tony Coop served as club professional for 45 years until his retirement in 1999 when he was elected as an Honorary Life Member. He achieved national fame in the 1960s with his performances in the Open Championship and he has played an active part in the Liverpool and District Golfing Alliance.

On 22 April 1954 the Society Committee accepted the application from Dean Wood to join the Society of Liverpool Golf Captains. The club has been a staunch supporter of the Society and its Captains have won the Leverhulme Salver on four occasions to date. In 1990 Norman Whittaker was elected as the first Captain of the Society from the Dean Wood club and has since been followed by David Morris in 2009.

CAPTAINS OF DEAN WOOD GOLF CLUB
1922 R O Hall 
1923  R O Hall 
1924  K Fraser 
1925  K Fraser 
1926  K Fraser  
1927  K Fraser  
1928  W A Halton 
1929  W A Halton 
1930  W H Lown 
1931  W D Platt 
1932  R Ball 
1933  R Ball 
1934  T A Rathbone 
1935  T A Rathbone  
1936  J Ball
1937  W G Pigot 
1938  J Mason 
1939  D H Hartley 
1940  D H Hartley 
1941  D H Hartley 
1942  D H Hartley
1943  S Rathbone
1944  S Rathbone 
1945  S Rathbone 
1946  W Crabtree
1947  A McCormack 
1948  J Hitchen 
1949  J Hitchen 
1950  F C Simm 
1951  F C Simm 
1952  W Foster 
1953  J A Atherton 
1954  A C Short 
1955  A C Short 
1956  C A Worswick 
1957  J S Whittle 
1958  J S Whittle 
1959  F Alker 
1960  H M Harrison 
1961  R P Heaton 
1962  F M Partlin 
1963  J R Baxter 
1964  J R Baxter 
1965  J R Baxter 
1966  T J Gaskell 
1967  I H Coop 
1968  I H Coop 
1969  R E Spencer 
1970  J A Mangnall 
1971  M E Richards 
1972  M E Richards 
1973  G R Millar 
1974  E J Marsden 
1975  A S Doig 
1976  E Miller 
1977  K Parkin 
1978  A Gaskell 
1979  D C Williams 
1980  J Speakman 
1981  N Whittaker 
1982  J Hatton 
1983  R H Pheasant 
1984  J Nelson 
1985  L Jones 
1986  R Morris 
1987  G R Millar 
1988  J Dawber 
1989  J Clooney 
1990  J Wilcock 
1991  W H McCrea 
1992  J K Brown 
1993  J Sweeney 
1994  A Pheasant 
1995  B J Wildman 
1996  R R Lang 
1997  P D Gore 
1998  D J Morris 
1999  F N Manley 
2000  W C Edwards 
2001  D B Allen 
2002  A D Cunningham 
2003  D W Hare 
2004  H Nelson 
2005  H Mawdsley 
2006  J E Delves 
2007  J D Oliver 
2008  R M Clayton 
2009  G J Simpkin
2010  I M Richardson 
2011  W S Molyneux
2012  T J Gore 
2013  I Compton 
2014  F J Stuart 
2015  G Rawsthorne 
2016  H Sweeney 
2017  Dr D Chang 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Formby Golf Club

For many embryo golf courses the railway provided a connection with the outside world and Freshfield Station was the link that helped to establish Formby Golf Club. Uniquely, it also divided the club from its neighbour, Freshfield Golf Club which was situated on the other side of the line. Both clubs are featured in the early Minute Book of the Society with Formby as a founder member hosting the Annual Competition in 1927 and fielding a strong team including four Past Captains (all in single figures) in the top 10 scores. Freshfield Golf Club was converted into an aerodrome in 1941 and was not rebuilt after World War II.

The History of Formby Golf Club,written by Ivor Thomas in 1972, attributes the formation of the club to John Bushby who convened the first meeting on 11 December 1884 and acted as Hon Secretary for the first two years. He was never Captain, the honour of the first holder of that office going to William MacIver. The first members were 21 gentlemen who allowed ladies who were related to a member to play, except on Saturdays. The 9 hole course was on Mr William Halewood’s Warren and he was elected an Honorary Life Member and received £10 per “season” as rent. The season ran from 1st October to the Saturday nearest the following 15th April but the conception of golf as a part time activity was soon abandoned and in 1886 it was decided to rent the links for a whole year at a cost of £30 per annum.

The original clubhouse was primitive with a thatched roof and cost less than £3. It was enlarged five years later at a cost of £30 to provide a self-service “cellar cool” bar accessed by a trap door. In 1891 the Council authorised £2,000 to be spent on a permanent clubhouse which was further extended in 1895 but then destroyed by fire in 1899. Undeterred, the 483 members raised £7,000 to build an even better clubhouse which was opened on 4 May 1901. This included residential accommodation and set the standard for the future. A more recent refurbishment and extension has created a clubhouse to match the grandeur of the course.

By the early nineties the course had been extended to 18 holes and in 1896 Formby Ladies Golf Club was formed with a membership of 120. A separate pavilion clubhouse was built for the ladies and, uniquely, they have their own 18 hole course constructed inside the circle of the men’s 18. The men’s course has undergone changes over the years with the well known names of Braid, Willie Park Jnr, Hawtree, Taylor, Pennink and Steele all making their contributions. The club became a Limited company in 1948 and the future of the course was secured in 1963 with the purchase of the freehold interest of 400 acres for £24,500.

Formby has a long association with amateur golf and has staged the Amateur, the Brabazon, the English Close and the British Ladies’ Championships and in 2004 hosted the biennial match between the USA and GB&I for the Curtis Cup. It has supported junior golf through the Boys’ Championship and the Liverpool & District Colts, and the Formby Hare provides an open scratch competition for low handicap golfers. As a founder member of the Society Formby has had two Captains, F Stanley Morris (1951/52) and Peter Wilson (1973/74). Peter has also served as President of the Lancashire and of the English Golf Unions and in 2008 he was awarded the Gerald Micklem Award for services to golf. P B S (Sands) Johnson, to whom Geoffrey Leece passes considerable thanks for his assistance in this research, has also served as President of the Lancashire Union of Golf Clubs.

CAPTAINS OF FORMBY GOLF CLUB
 
1884 W MacIver
1885 R D Welch
1886 R D Welch
1887 J S Beauford
1888 J Ainsworth
1889 E Hewer
1890 J Cullen
1891 J Shepherd
1892 J S Beauford
1893 R H Prestwich
1894 R H Prestwich
1895 J Hornby
1896 E Storey
1897 J Corbert Lowe
1898 C A Earle
1899 J Talbot Fair
1900 E C Hornby
1901 Lord Stanley
1902 J H Brand
1903 H A Sanderson
1904 R H Porter
1905 W B Leitch
1906 J H Evans
1907 T Croft
1908 Jos. Shepherd
1909 W Cluley Lord
1910 A B Rathbone
1911 R O'C N Deane
1912 C Blundell
1913 F W Rathbone
1914 W S Higgin
1915 A J Oakshot
1916 H Skelerdine
1917 D E Glynn
1918 J P Reynolds
1919 J H Coney
1920 A C Wilson
1921 W H Ridler
1922 W R Neilson
1923 R Fitzgerald
1924 A E Bennett
1925 H H Edgecombe
1926 B Hacking
1927 H de Bels Adam
1928 J Ravenscroft
1929 S J Lister
1930 J Walwyb White
1931 G W Fraser
1932 E E Fletcher
1933 F R Verdon
1934 Rt. Hon. 17th Earl of Derby
1935 A J Taylor
1936 H S Henderson
1937 R G N Henry
1938 T Stone
1939 T Montgomery
1940 T B Job
1941 T B Job
1942 T B Job
1943 T B Job
1944 P Forrester
1945 P Forrester
1946 T L C Heald
1947 F S Morris
1948 P J Taylor
1949 M G Garry
1950 W B D Stoddart
1951 Rt. Hon. 18th Earl of Derby
1952 W Paton
1953 S N Lister
1954 F Harvey-Isaac
1955 C C Birch
1956 S R C Walnsley
1957 W H L Lister
1958 E Senior Smith
1959 I Buchanan
1960 W Greenwood
1961 J Coney
1962 W Snell
1963 C R Walmsley
 
1964 G W E Ray
1965 J Lysaght Finigan
1966 J E H Wolff
1967 N H Stockley
1968 A W Hollway
1969 P H Wilson
1970 J B Machan
1971 A M Cheetham
1972 N A Woodhead
1973 J Nichol
1974 R A Spedding
1975 E S Atherton
1976 R J Cock
1977 L D Hayward
1978 N O K Gibbon
1979 S E Baucher
1980 K A Millichap
1981 T J B Roberts
1982 R S O'Mahony
1983 G W Thomas
1984 Rt. Hon. 18th Earl of Derby
1985 A G Lewis
1986 J Winter
1987 A M N Scorah
1989 M J Reece
1990 R J Guinee
1991 J E Burns
1992 P D Snell
1993 G B Capstick
1994 A L Lewis
1995 D J Appleton
1996 J E Kinder
1997 S G Povall
1998 G A Ensor
1999 P J Laker
2000 H A Thomas
2001 M J Neep
2002 S P Marsh
2003 J R Smith
2004 P B S Johnson
2005 B N Lewis
2006 B Birkinhead
2007 J D Parsons
2008 H F Smyth
2009 J B Harrocks
2010 G A Walsh
2011 A D H Cheetham
2012 N A C Roy
2013 T G Apel
2014 B J Billington
2015 M A Owen
2016 I N Jamson
2017  A M S Webster 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Gathurst Golf Club

The four founding fathers of Gathurst Golf Club were Alfred Broach, William Griffin, Matthew Taylor and Ernest Brooks (EB) Naylor, all neighbours living in Gathurst Lane, Shevington. They convened a meeting on 18 December 1913 at which 15 men decided to form the club and to sign a lease for a plot of land owned by a local farmer, John Ball. The land measured 13 acres, 3 roods and 26 perches (how many of us remember these old measurements?). William Griffin was appointed the first Captain for 1914 and Matthew Taylor was President. The first reference to lady members relates to a prize presented to the ladies in 1917 by the Captain, E B Naylor.

One can only speculate as to the condition of the course which was opened to play 5 days after the inaugural meeting. Of the 9 holes, the longest was no more than 150 yards and three were less than 50 yards so by present standards it was more like a pitch and putt course. The part-time greenkeeper was assisted by a boy fitted with a halter to pull the mower. The only “clubhouse” facility for the early years was a barn at Naylor’s Farm until a disused cricket pavilion was acquired but even this had no basic amenities. The greenkeeper also had the less than pleasant task of emptying the contents of the outside privy pail into the open ditch at Liptrot’s Wood. Health and safety was not a consideration in those days!

The playing area was doubled in 1922 when an additional 15 acres were leased from Mr Liptrot. The members still had to contend with grazing animals and playing over hedgerows but at least they had 9 holes of reasonable length on which to play. In 1927 the club had its first custom-designed clubhouse situated on Gathurst Lane but further trouble was looming after a dispute with the landlord. The outcome was the purchase of the freehold in 1937 and this was to provide some much needed stability until the arrival of the M6 in 1959. The motorway bisected the course affecting 8 out of the 9 holes and left the clubhouse on the “wrong” side of the motorway. Fortunately, a local farmer was in the same situation and a swap deal was arranged. Compensation money enabled the course to be re-planned and a new clubhouse erected on the present site.

In the years between 1959 and 1989 the course was extended to 12 holes as a step towards the creation of an 18 hole course. In 1991 Mr J Wilkinson, a local landowner, agreed to sell 26 hectares of land on the west side of the course thus allowing a further 6 holes to be created. The proposals were approved by the membership and in December 1993 the contract for purchase was signed. Mr M Pearson was appointed to design the layout of the new holes and the 18 hole course was formally opened on 22 July 1995.

Gathurst joined the Society on 28 November 1968 and Frank Smith, Captain of Gathurst in 1966, was elected Society Captain for 1997/98.

CAPTAINS OF GATHURST GOLF CLUB
1913  W J Griffin
1914  W J Griffin
1915  W J Griffin
1916  J D Reid
1917  E B Naylor
1918  E B Naylor 
1919  E B Naylor
1920  E B Naylor 
1921  E B Naylor 
1922  E B Naylor 
1923  E B Naylor 
1924  E B Naylor 
1925  E B Naylor 
1926  E B Naylor 
1927  D G Wilkie
1928  W W Wilson 
1929  W W Wilson 
1930  W W Wilson 
1931  W W Wilson 
1932  J Benson
1933  J Benson 
1934  J Benson 
1935  J Benson 
1936  J Holland 
1037  L S Jolley 
1938  L S Jolley 
1939  F Payne
1940  P G Watkins
1941  H Roscoe
1942  H Roscoe 
1943  H Roscoe 
1944  E Ball 
1945  E Ball 
1946  J Farrimond
1947  N Abbott
1948  P G Watkins
1949  W B Fleming
1950  R F Norris
1951  R F Norris 
1952  S Greene
1953  J Prescott
1954  H Thornton
1955  J Greenwood 
1956  N Rigby 
1957 N Rigby 
1958  E A Rigby 
1959  E A Rigby 
1960  E A Rigby 
1961  E A Rigby 
1962  E A Rigby 
1963  E A Rigby 
1964  W F E Simpson 
1965 G F Barton 
1966  E F Smith 
1967  P G Seston 
1968  K Clarke 
1969  J W Kirkham 
1970  F Pigot 
1971  A W Ashurst 
1972  J Speakman 
1973  G Tait 
1974  R Tomlinson 
1975  L Walford 
1976  S Bennetta 
1977  E J Jordan 
1978  A Parkinson 
1979  B R Fouracre 
1980  J Walls 
1981  T Charnley 
1982  J F O'Neil 
1983  E Cheetham 
1984  E Beasley 
1985  H Marrow 
1986  E Leigh 
1987  R Galloway 
1988  R F Jones 
1989  J M Lomax 
1990  W L Penk 
1991  G G Whitter 
1992  A Blan 
1993  J Clarke 
1994  M Lang 
1995  B G Ball 
1996  R Else 
1997 D Wilde 
1998  A A Goulden 
1999  N Clark 
2000  S G Lythgoe 
2001  D A Holland 
2002  G Saunders 
2003  S W Haigh 
2004  T King 
2005  J P Torney 
2006  J C Hudson 
2007  R A Hodder 
2008  W H McMath 
2009  T K Fisher
2010  J D T Scott 
2011  D Stockley
2012  P I H Davies
2013  M P Jordan 
2014  A Priestley 
2015  R Jones 
2016  T B Nelson 
2017  R Nicholson 
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Grange Park Golf Club

In his Centenary book the late Bert Fairclough referred to the theft of the original Minute Books which left historians with little information regarding the first 26 years of Grange Park Golf Club. Newspaper articles from that time have helped to establish that the first meeting of interested parties took place in 1890 at the home of Mr Benjamin Bradshaw Glover who was appointed Captain when the club was formed in the following year. The task of finding a suitable plot for a 9 hole golf course was given to Mr C H Jolliffe and he eventually located a 42 acre site on the south side of Prescot Road, opposite to the entrance of the present course. After using 24 Lugsmore Lane as a clubhouse for the first 10 years the men moved into the upper rooms of the Grange Park Hotel with the ladies in Grange Park Farmhouse.

The course was “marked out” by the Hoylake professional, John Morris, with the holes varying between 185 and 220 yards in length. The fortunes of the club suffered fluctuations during the early years with falling membership and shortage of funds which tempted the club Council in 1900 to accept a fee of £25 to allow the Royal Lancashire Agricultural Show to use the site. The success of the show was not shared by the club which was left with a major reconstruction problem after 15,000 spectators had trampled all over the tees and greens to watch horse jumping and similar activities.

On 22 April 1911 the club was incorporated into a Company Limited by Guarantee with a unique clause in its constitution. This stated that in the event of a winding-up any surplus assets would not be distributed among the members but would be given to some institution having similar objects, thus ensuring that the funds would be ploughed back into the game of golf. Two years later an extra 9 holes were added of which 8 were on the other side of Prescot Road and required the golfers to cross the road twice. The 1913 course of 18 holes would undergo a further 6 major transformations over the next 78 years. Changes of location and layout in 1923, 1927, 1957,1967, 1969 and 1991 have now established the course on the north side of Prescot Road with two loops of 9 holes.

The clubhouse from 1926 to 1957 was the Sycamores, an old Victorian Building in Prescot Road. The present clubhouse, built in 1957 at a cost of £25,000, has since been extended and refurbished. The land on which it stands was purchased from Pilkington Brothers and no mention of Grange Park would be complete without reference to this family. Having grown to be one of the world’s leading producers of flat and safety glasses as well as providing employment to the local population, Pilkington Brothers has also been generous to the golf club. In 1968 Lord Pilkington agreed that his Company would sell the leasehold interest in the course for £40,000 and for the ensuing 999 years the club will hand over a red rose as “rent” each Midsummer. Following the death of Lord Pilkington, the Chairman of the Company is now the regular recipient of this traditional gift.

Grange Park joined the Society in 1931 and has produced three Captains, Ben Spaven (1960/61), Leslie Stewart(1975/76) and John Currie (1999/2000). Leslie Stewart also served as President of the Lancashire Union of Golf Clubs and in the 1952 Open Championship John William Jones was the leading Amateur and Silver medallist.

In 1977 Ben Spaven presented a trophy for the over 65s which is competed for at the Annual Competition.

CAPTAINS OF GRANGE PARK GOLF CLUB
1891 B B Glover
1892 B B Glover
1893 B B Glover
1894 F R Dixon-Nuttall
1895 F R Dixon-Nuttall
1896 H Varley
1897 H Varley
1898 A Gray
1899 A Gray
1900 J Hammill
1901 C H Jolliffe
1902 D McKechnie
1903 J Hamill
1904 J Hamill
1905 W J Glover
1906 W J Glover
1907 J Hamill
1908 J Hamill
1909 G P Varley
1910 G P Varley
1911 A Brewis
1912 A Brewis
1913 J R Turner
1914 J R Turner
1915 J Fordsham
1916 J Frodsham
1917 R J Knapman
1918 R J Knapman
1919 J Mercer
1920 G P Varley
1921 R W Blades
1922 R W Blades
1923 W P Collins
1924 J Saywell
1925 J Saywell
1926 A S Wilson
1927 A S Wilson
1928 A J A Orchard
1929 A J A Orchard
1930 J Hammill
1931 J Glover
1932 H J Lyon
1933 H J Lyon
1934 G F Denning
1935 A S Owen
1936 W Heaton
1937 W Heaton
1938 T H Wood
1939 F Heaton
1940 F Heaton
1941 F Heaton
1942 F Heaton
1943 F Heaton
1944 F Heaton
1945 F Heaton
1946 C E B Griffon
1947 C E B Griffon
1948 B Spaven
1949 F G Taylor
1950 S Sumner
1951 H Lockhart
1952 A Dewsbury
1953 A Dewsbury
1954 W C Rothery
1955 W C Rothery
1956 E W R Bywaters
1957 B Spaven
1958 P J O'Sullivan
1959 A O Cowper
1960 A O Cowper
1961 P Johnson
1962 I H Stewart
1963 I J Wolfe
1964 W A Barr
1965 A T Coe
1966 R W Heaton
1967 K Brown
1968 H L Fairclough
1969 T Callon
1970 W Rigby
1971 T Pursell
1972 J M L Spaven
1973 F J Howard
1974 G H Corrigan
1975 F S Brown
1976 G G Twist
1977 J J Appleton
1978 R Marsh
1979 H Jacoby
1980 C Buck
1981 W Lyon
1982 R Saunders
1983 G Smith
1984 E Leavesley
1985 J Grundy
1986 J F Currie
1987 L D Bradbury
1988 J P Coan
1989 J E Travis
1990 E Wilson
1991 A J Crick
1992 D Knowles
1993 G A Billington
1994 D Peter
1995 A D Molyneux
1996 K Proudfoot
1997 G H Jones
1998 G A C Wands
1999 G Makin
2000 A A Barr
2001 J Rawlinson
2002 D A Williams
2003 J Price
2004 K Stringer
2005 J Whittle
2006 K Gill
2007 A Brown
2008 P F J Seddon
2009 A Rawlinson
2010 J Clarke
2011 M H Devenish
2012 S M Gange
2013 A H Lane
2014 D Larcombe
2015 P Bradley
2016 W E Guest
 2017  J P Greer
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Haydock Park Golf Club

On 5 January 1877 with Queen Victoria on the throne and Disraeli as Prime Minister Haydock Park Golf Club was formed. Records from that era report that there were only ten golf clubs in the whole of England at that time so Haydock could well have been the eleventh. Another early record from the local newspaper, The Wigan Observer and District Advertiser, reports on the first Captain’s Prize provided by Dr Lister and held on 12 May 1877. It was reportedly played over 22 holes but as the course in 1877 was either 9 or 12 holes there is some mystery as to the number of holes played that day.

Unfortunately, some of the club records for the next thirty years are missing. However, there is an Ordnance Survey map which shows the location of the course approximately half a mile to the west of the present course. An entry in the Victorian History of the Counties of England states “  The course of the Haydock Park Golf Club adjoins the well-known racecourse at Dean Dam Moor, Newton-le-Willows. The club was founded in January 1877 by Dr Lister, Dr Watkins, the Rev H Siddall and others and its original links of nine holes have never been extended to the regulation eighteen. The links are charmingly situated in a wooded district and the pasture land on which they are laid out is slightly undulating”. The list of founders should also include the Rev.Pym Williamson whose medal is still competed for to this day.

The move to Golborne Park was taken at very short notice in December 1921 and seven months later Fred Green drove himself into the Captain’s office on the new 18 hole course. The club was also reconstituted as a Limited Liability Company with an 18th century mansion for a clubhouse instead of the previous humble sports pavilion.

The club suffered more devastation than most golf clubs as a result of World War II. The course was closed for play and part of the land was turned over for grazing. In 1943 the course was requisitioned for military purposes to billet American troops preparing for the invasion of Europe. It was not until Easter of 1948 that it was restored for the benefit of members and on 29 July 1951 the Captain drove off to reopen the course as 18 holes.

In May 1961 four Ex-Captains of the club, whose names are not known, applied to join the Society and were duly admitted. Thus, Haydock Park became a member of the Society and the club has since produced two Society Captains, Tom Boydell (1980/81) and Derek Walkden (2007/08).

CAPTAINS OF HAYDOCK PARK GOLF CLUB
1900 G Smith
1901  A Smith 
1902  A Smith 
1903  C S Bennie 
1904  L E Pilkington 
1905  L E Pilkington 
1906  L E Pilkington 
1907  J D P Smith 
1908  A W Anderton 
1909  F Lomax 
1910  F Lomax 
1911  L E Pilkington 
1912  C Cole 
1913  C Cole 
1914  J Robinson 
1915  J Robinson 
1916  J Dickinson 
1917  J Dickinson 
1918  T Barnes 
1919  T Barnes 
1920  T Southern 
1921  F A Green 
1922  F A Green 
1923  W Goslin 
1924  W Goslin 
1925  W Boardman 
1926  J Naylor 
1927  J Naylor 
1928  W Longton 
1929  C T Naylor 
1930  C T Naylor 
1931  C T Naylor 
1932  H Horrocks 
1933  F Hindley 
1934  F Hindley 
1935  J Sims 
1936  J Sims 
1937  J W Beswick 
1938  J W Beswick 
1939  E W Stephenson 
1940  E W Stephenson 
1941  S Bridge 
1942  S Bridge 
1943  S Bridge 
1944  S Bridge 
1945  S Bridge 
1946  W Naylor 
1947  W Naylor 
1948  W Naylor 
1949  H Scholes 
1950  H Scholes 
1951  J Gaughan 
1952  C Ledger 
1953  S Smith 
1954  S Bridge 
1955  H Finlayson 
1956  J Twiss 
1957  M D Connolly 
1958  A J Fairhurst 
1959  A J Fairhurst 
1960 A H Randall
1961  T J Robson 
1962  F H R Jones 
1963  J Ryan 
1964  F G Naylor 
1965  J L Carragher 
1966  R Lancaster 
1967  H E Rimmer 
1968  J Laithwaite 
1969  J Hunter 
1970  T Catterall 
1971  J G Gibson 
1972  L Ball 
1973  W E Jones 
1974  C A Pilling 
1975  T O Boydell 
1976  K D Jones 
1977  H M Tarbuck 
1978  R Gleave 
1979  A Smith 
1980  J I Bentley 
1981  E Squires 
1982  J Kibbler 
1983  G Tait 
1984  R B Sankey 
1985  J Litton 
1986  E Brown 
1987  L Calvert 
1988  J Foy 
1989  C D S Burton 
1990  M Potter 
1991  H Fairburn 
1992 W F Powell 
1993  C Goodwin 
1994  K Blake 
1995  D E Walkden 
1996  A Tipping 
1997  M H Gallagher 
1998  T R Horton 
1999  D Wood 
2000  F S Halliwell 
2001  A Crompton 
2002  L Prescott 
2003  C Jackson 
2004  J Yates 
2005  L Walkden 
2006  J Haigney 
2007  D Atherton 
2008  B Lutas 
2009  J R Kilshaw 
2010  B Jameson 
2011  F Buckley
2012  D Barton
2013  J Holcroft 
2014  D McGrory 
2015  M J Sherlock 
2016  J Arrowsmith 
2017  C Anderson 
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Hesketh Golf Club

Southport Golf Club was founded on 3 January 1885 at the instigation of Captain J Hardy Welsby “and a few friends”. He was one of 29 founder members some of whom, including John Dun a Past Captain of Royal Liverpool, were members of other clubs. Membership and involvement in a number of clubs was a common feature of the early golfers and part of the mechanism that resulted in the spread of the game. The land for the course at Marshside was leased from Colonel Edward Fleetwood Hesketh and the 12 holes were soon increased to 18 later in the year.

Until 1891 the course was known as the New Inn Links, named after the nearby Inn which provided a club room for the members. The golfers had to negotiate their way around the scattered cottages of fishermen and shrimpers and along the tracks on which they travelled and a further impediment were squatters who inhabited the nearby hamlet of Little Ireland. They numbered about 500 and lived in slum dwellings situated near to the present clubhouse and the problems they created motivated the club to move inland to Moss Lane in 1892. The Moss Lane Links were leased from the Scarisbrick Estates, Charles Scarisbrick having been one of the original founding members. The new course had 18 holes, one being a monster 546 yards, and membership flourished with a ceiling of 250 members imposed in 1894.

However, by 1901 the Hesketh family had sorted out their problems at Marshside having cleared out the unwelcome squatters. The Hesketh Estate decided to restore the former New Inn Links to its former glory with additional land and a new clubhouse and Charles Hesketh Bibby Hesketh issued a prospectus setting out his plans. Furthermore, he invited the Southport Club to join him back at Marshside and despite having signed a new lease at Moss Lane the members agreed to return to their original home. Thus in 1902 the name was changed to Hesketh Golf Club using the splendid clubhouse sitting on top of the old beach cliff which still serves the present members, albeit somewhat extended over the years.

The 1920s were troubled times for the club following several attempts by the landlord to sell the land. The course was saved when Southport Corporation bought the land in 1936 and granted a 99 year lease to the club. There were conditions attached but the club survived and the future was finally secured by a later 999 year lease. There have been a number of changes to the course layout over the years but the essential links features have remained.

In 1908 the possibility of a Golf Union for Lancashire had been debated and this led to 29 clubs deciding to go ahead and form the Union. The inaugural Lancashire Championship was played at Hesketh in 1910, the winner being Hesketh’s G F Smith. The brothers Arnold and Harry Bentley also played 82 times for the County and 70 times for England. The club played an even bigger part on the national scene when a Past-Captain, J Rayner Batty, convened a meeting in 1924 that was to lead to the formation of the English Golf Union and also to his appointment as its first President. Derek Holden, a twice Captain of Hesketh in 1967 and 1985, served as President of the Lancashire Union of Golf Clubs in 1997.

As a founder member of the Society, Hesketh has provided four Captains in Bryce Hanmer (1950/51), Norman Thorpe (1970/71), Peter Jones (1993/94) and Colin Roberts (2016/17).

CAPTAINS OF HESKETH GOLF CLUB
1885 J H Welsby 
1886  J Hardy Welsby 
1887  J Hardy Welsby 
1888  J Hardy Welsby 
1889  H McNicholl 
1890  T O Clinning 
1891  C Scarisbrick 
1892  J Betham 
1893  W E Buckley 
1894  W E Buckley 
1895  W E Buckley 
1896 C J Mulleneux 
1897  W E Bland 
1898  J Morison 
1899  W Thompson 
1900  R O'C N Deane 
1901  D C Anderson 
1902  T Aitken 
1903  C H B Hesketh 
1904  G F Smith 
1905  R A Nicholson 
1906  C Smith 
1907  W Hendserson 
1908  H E Mason 
1909  A H Leech 
1910  J W Wilson 
1911  H J Walker 
1912  A S Mead 
1913  A S Mead 
1914  J Brown 
1915  J Brown 
1916  J Brown 
1917  W Hodge 
1918  W Hodge 
1919  A E Evans 
1920  J R Batty 
1921  J R Batty 
1922  H Walker 
1923  F W Carter 
1924  W Hodge 
1925  W K Ball 
1926  W K Ball 
1927  E H Q Henriques 
1928  R A J Berry 
1929  R A J Berry 
1930  J C Taylor 
1931 R A Barnes 
1932  S Whittaker 
1933  WG Radcliffe 
1934  W R Gregson 
1935  W R Gregson 
1936  T Goffey 
1937  T Goffey 
1938  B M Hanmer 
1939  B M Hanmer 
1940  B M Hanmer 
1941  B M Hanmer 
1942  T M Mawdsley 
1943  T M Mawdsley 
1944  J D Ashworth 
1945 R G Taylor
1946 R G Taylor
1947 W Morris
1948 A L Ashton
1949 J S Hollings
1950 J N Howarth
1951 F H Duncan 
1952 S Bradshaw 
1953 A L Bentley 
1954 J L Braithwaite 
1955 D C MacNicol 
1956 F H Lomax
1957 A C Radcliffe 
1958 H C Crowther 
1959 T N Thorpe
1960 P K Horrocks 
1961 L Wells
1962  L Wells 
1963  T N Thorpe 
1964  R F Legat 
1965  D Wood 
1966  R C Terry 
1967  D T Holden 
1968  R G WElls 
1969  A L Blackhurst
1970  J R Craig 
1971  B W Pierpoint 
1972  C Grindlay 
1973  F S Martin 
1974  N Webb 
1975  W H Kernahan 
1976   A R Wilson 
1977  W P Howard 
1978  R Mentha 
1979  C Rawstron 
1980  J Harris 
1981  P D Carroll 
1982  M W Molyneaux 
1983  J D Owen 
1984  J Fearn 
1985  D T Holden 
1986  P Dougherty 
1987  G C Farrow 
1988  P W C Jones 
1989  R H Foster 
1990  A J Hartley 
1991  R Abram 
1992  P F Butterfield 
1993  E J Usher 
1994  D C Cobham 
1995  H J Foster 
1996  C Ryding 
1997  E Oldroyd 
1998  T Walton 
1999  K Brady 
2000 P Griffith 
2001  J A Fleetwood 
2002  M G Cruickshank 
2003  M A Williams 
2004  A F Roe 
2005  R E Price 
2006  A Rodwell 
2007  A S Tilbrook 
2008  R Fletcher 
2009  C B Roberts 
2010  R W Reeve 
2011 D Harrison
2012 S W Mentha
2013  J McInerney 
2014  R W Stevens 
2015  P M Killick 
2016  S S Jones 
2017 J B Watkins
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Heswall Golf Club

The Hotel Victoria, now demolished, was the venue on 12 June 1902 for a meeting of prospective Heswall Golf Club members. The meeting was summoned by Mr G Bradstock Lockett and following the unanimous decision to form the club he was appointed Honorary Secretary. By 31 July 1902 a total of 66 Members and 45 Lady Associates had joined. As with many other courses, the railway was a major factor as regards location and Heswall station on the old London & North Western Railway provided a convenient access for the members. Today the old line, now a public footpath known as the Wirral Way, acts as a barrier between the East and West sections of the course and must be crossed to complete the round. Unlike most courses Heswall started as 18 holes and although new holes have been added and the layout changed over the years the essential parkland features have remained. The original course was designed by Jack Morris, the professional at Royal Liverpool, who was involved in the layout of many local courses during that era.

Lady Associates were encouraged from the start and at the course opening on 6 September 1902 the first Captain, Mr E Twigge, stated “One of the objects of the club is the abolition of golfing widows in the district.” His philosophy has endured to this day as Heswall still has one of the largest ladies sections in the locality. Gladys Temple Dobell (nee Ravenscroft) is by far the best remembered lady member having won the English and the American Ladies Championships in 1912/13 as well as featuring in many other international golfing events.

In the early days rooms were rented from Gayton Hall farm but these were soon given up following several outbreaks of diphtheria. On 13 February 1904 the members approved plans for the construction of a wood and iron clubhouse on a brick foundation at a cost of £1,500 and they also approved a new 21 year lease for the course. This clubhouse, together with all club records, was destroyed by fire on 20 January 1924 and two years later the first stage of the present building was constructed. There are few golf courses that can boast a location that the Heswall clubhouse enjoys. Sitting on rising land above the 18th green with views down to the River Dee and the mountains of Wales, the present clubhouse has been extended over the years. Its most popular feature is the outside terrace, sheltered from the winds, where an evening drink can be taken whilst watching the sun set over the Clwyd hills.

On 21 December 1948 the Council took the opportunity to buy the freehold of the land nanced by promissory notes from members. Frank Pennink reviewed the course in 1968 and made suggestions for improvement including the construction of new holes. More recently, Donald Steel drew up and supervised the plans for the new land purchased in 2000 and opened for play in 2007.

On the administrative side, Heswall has had two Presidents of the English Golf Union, Stuart Cookson in 1994 and Fred Caroe in 2006 and both have also served as President of the Cheshire Union of Golf Clubs. Other Cheshire Presidents have been Frank Harkins and Stuart Gorman. As far as the Society is concerned, Frank Harkins in 1988 and Robert J Carter in 2013 have served as Captain. 

CAPTAINS OF HESWALL GOLF CLUB
1902  E Twigge
1903  C MacIver 
1904  E Johnston 
1905  E Johnston 
1906  E Johnston 
1907  R Brancker 
1908  R Brancker 
1909  W T Lee 
1910  T W Baker 
1911  A W Stone 
1912  R H Hooper 
1913  T H Forgan 
1914  C P Coulevas 
1915  C P Coulevas 
1916  C P Coulevas 
1917  C P Coulevas 
1918  C P Coulevas 
1919  C P Coulevas 
1920  H Williams 
1921  C E DeWolfe 
1922  R H Anderson 
1923  G Q Dinn 
1924  A Barrett 
1925  W M M Forwood 
1926  W M M Forwood 
1927  F J Cope 
1928  E E Hough 
1929  R E Roberts 
1930  G Bradley 
1931  J P Wardle 
1932  J E Roberts 
1933  J R Fleming 
1934  P B Hughes 
1935  P B White 
1936  F A Reece 
1937  C Band 
1938  T N White 
1939  J P Wardle 
1940  J P Wardle 
1941 J P Wardle 
1942  J P Wardle 
1943  H V Evans 
1944  H V Evans 
1945  P L Davies 
1946  E H Peters 
1947  J Escolme 
1948  R W G Scott 
1949  J B Dowler 
1950  W Rose 
1951  A Hughes 
1952  C L Ball 
1953  J B Dowler 
1954  E G Thomas 
1955  F B Cope 
1956  W D Armstrong 
1957  A N Lockier 
1958  E L Wiard 
1959  F Hiscocks 
1960  C A Leggett 
1961  A Batty 
1962 G C Lees 
1963  J M Harvey 
1964  C L Overton 
1965  J B Tomkinson 
1966  G Bancroft 
1967  R J Critten 
1968  H B Kelly 
1969  E Woodhead 
1970  R C Blair 
1971  C W Berry 
1972  S P H Cookson 
1973  R G H Binnery 
1974  R J Keating 
1975  N E Kitchen 
1976  C F Caroe 
1977  B H Keenan 
1978  D J Jardine 
1979  E A Wilson 
1980 E Raspin 
1981  P H Kenney 
1982  F Harkins 
1983  J I I Bissett 
1984  A C Craig 
1985  D I Hewitt 
1986  M A Meakin 
1987  G S Gorman 
1988  C B M Kenrick 
1989  B B Wright 
1990 J A Teare 
1991  B T Ridge 
1992  R May 
1993  F W Taylor 
1994  F W Spencer 
1995  P J Dowell 
1996  A Brooker 
1997  S A Allen 
1998  P J Thomas 
1999  J Deakin 
2000  R J Carter 
2001  K J Davies 
2002  J H Roberts 
2003  P G Lees 
2004  A R Williamson 
2005  J Darbyshire 
2006  W J P Smith 
2007  P M Higgins 
2008  D Holgate 
2009  K Housley 
2010  H J Sharman 
2011  H P Jones 
2012  P D Rogers 
2013  C Hornsby 
2014  M Greaney 
2015  P Rodgers 
2016  C T Hillock 
2017  T Moon 
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Hillside Golf Club

Hillside is the tasty meat in the sandwich between Royal Birkdale and Southport & Ainsdale on a superb stretch of coastal sand dunes. These three courses sit side by side, divided only by the electric railway that links Southport with the City of Liverpool. The railway line is uppermost in the mind of a golfer standing on the first tee at Hillside where a hooked shot is not the recommended route.

The absence of club records prior to 1923 hinders the research into the early history which is believed to have started with a meeting at the Portland Hotel in the summer of 1911. Those present decided to make use of the 9 holes that had been laid out by the Blundell Golf Club which had moved to Ainsdale that year and which disbanded in the 1930s. The course was on land leased from Hillside Farm and situated to the East of the railway but by 1922 more space was required to accommodate the increasing membership. New housing development in that area meant that a move to the other side of the railway was a preferred option and discussions were opened with the Weld Blundell Estate to lease a stretch of land suitable for an 18 hole course. A 21 year lease was agreed and the new course was opened to play on 4 August 1923. The first Captain was R Mook in 1919 and he held office again in 1922.

On 28 February 1923 a Limited Liability Company was formed with a share capital of £3,000 and each founder member was issued with a share certificate and a commemorative mug. The early meetings were not without discord as some members objected to the move and to the proposed construction of an “expensive” clubhouse which was specially designed to allow it to be sold as a house if the club should be forced out of business. The clubhouse was opened on 19 December 1924 and the structure still forms the nucleus of the present building. Finances were stretched but under the Chairmanship of Louis Rowlandson with Hugh Davies as Honorary Secretary the Board was able to provide the financial stability to steer the club through a di fficult period of transition.

In October 1957 the respected golf course architect, Fred Hawtree, produced his plans which were to take Hillside into the top flight of courses throughout the world. It involved the release to Southport Corporation of 4 holes at the far end of the course in exchange for unused land between the Hillside and Birkdale courses. A unique feature of the exchange was that the construction of the new holes would be financed by the sale of 200,000 tons of sand taken from the new area. Hawtree subsequently reconstructed the front 9 holes and the new Championship course was opened in June 1967. Only 4 of the holes now bear any close resemblance to the holes of the original course.

Hillside has hosted the Amateur, English Amateur, European Amateur and Boys Amateur Championships as well as the Ladies British Open and a host of professional events. It is regularly used as a qualifying course when the Open Championship is played next door at Royal Birkdale. The Club joined the Society in 1934 and has produced two Captains, Bert Collinge (1959/60) and Bryan Greenwood (2000/01).

CAPTAINS OF HILLSIDE GOLF CLUB
1919 R Mook
1920  G A Kelley 
1921  J D Carpenter 
1922  R Mook 
1923  G Sherrington 
1924  G Sherrington 
1925  C H Taylor 
1926  A F Darah 
1927  J M T Reynolds 
1928  J M T Reynolds 
1929  L F Rowlandson 
1930  M E Bishop 
1931  H S Collinge 
1932  A Poirette 
1933  W R H Gibbs 
1934  H Davies 
1935  J A W Hepburn 
1936  J A W Hepburn 
1937  G Worsley 
1938  A Crampton 
1939  J Carson 
1940  J Carson 
1941  J M T Reynolds 
1942  J M T Reynolds 
1943  J M T Reynolds 
1944  G Dixon 
1945  G Dixon 
1946  B Turner 
1947  C Hodkinson 
1948  C Hodkinson 
1949  J Moody 
1950  B Turner 
1951  T S Bolton 
1952  G H Ball 
1953  F W Veale 
1954  N P Vanderbilt 
1955  W McMurray 
1956  T Garstang 
1957  R W Barraclough 
1958  J W Raynor 
1959  L Rushton 
1960  H L Greenwood 
1961  J Moody 
1962  H S Collinge 
1963  N H Gough 
1964  F Beck 
1965  E B Taylor 
1966  J B Mawdesley 
1967  W Sawyer 
1968  W B Allison 
1969  T Johnson 
1970  J P Proctor 
1971  J D Giddens 
1972  H V Bateson 
1973  J Maher 
1974 J A A Bent
1975  T E Broughton 
1976  K N Owen 
1977  J McAllister 
1978  C F Wilson 
1979  J E Mawdesley 
1980  G C C Lindsay 
1981  R J Smith 
1982  D E Wood 
1983  R M Allan 
1984  J Mullen 
1985  W C Backhouse 
1986  B L Greenwood 
1987  H G Noad 
1988  G H Attwood 
1989  F A Hennessy 
1990  G P Owen 
1991  D M Cox 
1992  J R Walls 
1993  J J Simmons 
1994  G C Hinds 
1995  D Hindle 
1996  G D Anderton 
1997  G C Kendrick 
1998  G Brunskill 
1999  I W McKittrick 
2000  R A Hennessy 
2001  I A McDiarmid 
2002  G A Charnock 
2003  B G Crilly 
2004  C E Pennington 
2005  J A Proctor 
2006  D Lanigan 
2007  K R Parkinson 
2008  J A Taylor 
2009  D K Dixon 
2010  P Molloy 
2011  D A Harkness 
2012  A J Davies 
2013  J J Bradburn 
2014  G S Jones 
2015 R Walker 
2016 G J Williams 
2017 D Rooney 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

 Back to top of page

 
Huyton & Prescot Golf Club

The first 35 years of the club appear to have run smoothly, possibly masked by the loss of all records, trophies and honours boards. Huyton Golf Club was formed in 1905 at the instigation of the Atherton family who owned and lived on the estate. Hurst House had been a rural retreat in the early 1700s having originally been constructed as a square manor house with later additions in 1879 including the clock tower with its five bell chime. The Atherton family were founders of the nearby British Insulated Wire Company, later to become BICC, and their family home was the first domestic property to be wired for electricity using the paper insulated wiring that they had introduced to Britain. The two Atherton brothers who lived at Hurst House did not get on together as evidenced during the 1961 clubhouse refurbishment when it was discovered that part of the house was wired for alternating current (AC) and the other part for direct current (DC).

James Braid directed the layout for the 18 hole course and Herbert Baxter was appointed Captain and the Hon. Arthur Stanley, the son of Lord Derby, elected as President. Lord Derby was a friend of the Athertons and would sometimes bring the Prince of Wales, later King Edward VIII, to play at Huyton. Deer donated by Lord Derby roamed the park until one of them attacked a local golfing vicar and his Lordship was asked to take them back to Knowsley. The initial membership was 77 men and 45 ladies with the latter having the same voting rights as the men - an enlightened philosophy that was extended to the mixed use of the clubhouse, thus setting the standard for future social relations within the club.

The year 1939 brought bad news to the club, not only for the outbreak of World War II when it became a convalescent home, but also because the Athertons served notice that the lease would not be renewed. They set up Huyton Golf Links Ltd to manage the course on a “pay as you go” basis and many members left to join other clubs.Those who remained formed Huyton & District Golf Club paying green fees until 1945 when they formed Hurst Park Golf Club with a scheme to sign a new lease. However, before they could do so the Athertons announced their plan to sell the estate and that they had received a firm offer. A determined group of 62 members managed to raise and borrow £29,000 to buy the course and clubhouse. Thus on 26 August 1948 Huyton & Prescot Golf Club Ltd was formed and the other bidders graciously withdrew and went o to build Lee Park. Bob Knowles was elected Captain with Jack Vaughan as Secretary, a position he held for 34 years. His daughter, Sheila Maher, a former international golfer, was Captain of the Lancashire Ladies Golf Union in 2007.

There was welcome financial relief in 1954 when land at the paddock was sold for building. A major reconstruction of the clubhouse in 1961 was followed by an even greater upheaval in 1969 when the M57 motorway removed a quarter of the land. Compensatory land from BICC enabled the course to be re-planned under the guidance of Fred Hawtree and Dave Smith’s Development Committee. As a member of that Committee Geoffrey Leece enjoyed a unique opportunity to plan a new golf course and his lasting epitaph is that he can claim the 5th hole as his idea.

Harold Hayco was one of the four men who attended the first recorded Committee meeting of the Society in 1923 and in the following year he presented the trophy that still bears his name. Walter Coombs was Society Captain in 1965/66 and Geoffrey Leece  followed him in 1987/88.

CAPTAINS OF HUYTON & PRESCOT GOLF CLUB
1905  H Baxter 
1906  H Baxter 
1907  J Shaw
1908  S Russell 
1909  S Russell 
1910  F Pritchard 
1911  W L Shaw 
1912  W H Roby 
1913  W H Roby 
1914  W Kerfoot 
1915  W Kerfoot 
1916  W Kerfoot 
1917  W Kerfoot 
1918 W Kerfoot
1919  W Kerfoot 
1920  N Harrison 
1921  C Sever 
1922  H S Hayco 
1923  A J Brown 
1924  N Silcock 
1925  D Bates 
1926  J F Ward 
1927  R J Knapman 
1928  J Hammill 
1929  W F Dixon-Nuttall 
1930  L Hammill 
1931  T Glynne-Evans 
1932  E R Pierce 
1933  J Halligan 
1934  W Ellis 
1935  J Bruce 
1936  J St. Clair 
1937  J Bruce 
1938  R E Broughton 
1939  T E Balshaw
1940  W E Smith 
1941  G Pinnington 
1942  G Pinnington  
1943  P Bates 
1944  P C Lockyer 
1945  R N Knowles 
1946  R N Knowles 
1947  E G Paterson 
1948  R N Knowles 
1949  D E Griffiths 
1950  J H Young 
1951  A S Thornton 
1952  W Coombes 
1953  J R Henley 
1954  D Smith 
1955  H C Adams  
1956  B Joseph 
1957  F A Edmondson
1958  C J Mitchell
1959  S C Parkinson 
1960  J E Holdsworth 
1961  S J Faulkner 
1962  W G Jones 
1963  S J Faulkner 
1964  D Hindle 
1965 R Williams 
1966  F A Edmondson 
1967  R P Harling 
1968  T P Barton 
1969  G R Leece 
1970  J Fiddles 
1971  E Dickin 
1972  J D Maher 
1973  W S Paton 
1974  G A Wright 
1975  J H Hoolihan 
1976  C W Ward 
1977  W J Connell 
1978  F Lea 
1979  R D Jones 
1980  J Nicholson 
1981  T G Pearson 
1982  A Winrow 
1983  F E G Pates 
1984  R K Prowse 
1985  E Pinnington 
1986  K J Wilcock 
1987  H C Lonsdale 
1988  A Roskell 
1989  K H Campbell 
1990  I G Bruce 
1991  K Whittamore 
1992  J K Hulme 
1993  J P Stevens 
1994  W E Wilson 
1995  B A Cadwallader 
1996  F Rodgers 
1997  W R Ireland 
1998  G R Barr 
1999  P H Blacoe 
2000  W E Giles 
2001  C Rhodes 
2002  A P McCarthy 
2003  G M Booth 
2004  W J Lewis 
2005  A Davies 
2006  W J Connell 
2007  N V Gleave 
2008  P Aspinall 
2009  M B A Jolley 
2010  R Clamp 
2011  A Gorman 
2012  L J Gornall 
2013  T Chapman 
2014 C Town 
2015 A S Elliott 
2016 R A Davies 
2017  R J Cronley 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Leasowe Golf Club

Leasowe Golf Club started in 1891 and has steadfastly remained “men only” throughout its existence. It was formed as a 9 hole course situated adjacent to Leasowe Lighthouse and moved along the coast to the present site in 1894. The original course was taken over by Moreton Ladies Golf Club but their tenure there lasted only 10 years until the outbreak of the first World War when it was requisitioned for agricultural purposes and never rebuilt.

The legendary John Ball Jnr. was instrumental in the formation of the club and served as Captain for the first four years of its existence. He was 29 when the club was formed having in the previous year won the British Amateur Championship at his home club, Royal Liverpool, and the Open Championship at Prestwick. This feat has never been repeated and in total he won the Amateur Championship eight times. In between playing competitive golf and internationals all over the country he still found time to play in Leasowe competitions off a handicap of +10 and to serve in the Boer War with the Denbighshire Yeomanry.

A room at the Lighthouse served as the changing room until the move in 1894 when an approach to the adjacent Leasowe Castle was rejected. An issue of 4% debentures to the members raised the £455 required to build a clubhouse situated on the present site. The new course of 9 holes was laid out by the Royal Liverpool professional, Jack Morris, and John Ball Jnr. The Leasowe Committee resolved that all members should be asked to wear red coats with slate grey collars when playing on the links - now only worn formally by Captains and Past Captains.

Another innovation from 1894 was the arrangement with the Wirral Railway Company for the opening of a new station at Leasowe together with the provision of pony and trap transport to the course. By 1904 the course had been extended to 18 holes, some of which would have been seaward of the present course. Erosion of the sand dunes plus a period of controlled sand removal has changed the contours over the years but the sea defences have now been secured with the construction of a coastal walk and seaside park.

As most of the original golf clubhouses were constructed of timber perhaps it is not surprising how many of them were destroyed by fire. Leasowe’s loss occurred on 18 August 1963 when only the steward’s house remained after the clubhouse and all it’s records and trophies were burnt. Fortunately, the club had just increased its insurance cover and was able to rebuild the clubhouse and supply the members with brand new golf clubs.

By 1984 a land switch had been completed which left the club as owners of all its land and with no further responsibility for the sea defences. Two years later the members approved plans for an extension of the clubhouse which was completed and occupied in 1986. Landscaping with soil from Everton’s old football pitch has helped to enhance the course appearance.

Leasowe was a founder member of the Society and has produced four Captains - G Dudley West (1955/56), Bill Gillmore (1968/69), Ron Ceha (1984/85) and latterly David Laidlaw (2010/11). Ian Fraser (Captain 1975), who died in the Society's Centenary year, was awarded the Victoria Cross in World War II for sinking a Japanese Cruiser from a midget submarine.

CAPTAINS OF LEASOWE GOLF CLUB
1891  J Ball Jnr. 
1892  J Ball Jnr. 
1893  J Ball Jnr. 
1894  J Ball Jnr. 
1895  R Johnston 
1896  J E Burton 
1897  R W Lee 
1898  D Walker 
1899  J A Gray 
1900  C H Burton 
1901  R Dunlop 
1902  C H Smith 
1903  H Rider 
1904  H Hartley 
1905  A Burrell 
1906  G Doleman 
1907  J P Carr 
1908  J Ball 
1909  J S Kellett Smith 
1910  W A Short 
1911  J Williamson 
1912  E Henshaw 
1913  W F Skipworth 
1914  J Marwood 
1915  J Marwood 
1916 J Marwood 
1917  J Marwood 
1918  J H Rogers 
1919  J Byrne 
1920  C D McGinness 
1921  J E W Cook 
1922  A H Holford 
1923  J H Summerfield 
1924  J P Carr 
1925  G D West 
1926  M H D'Arcy 
1927  M F Drinkwater 
1928  T H Jones 
1929  J A Carlile 
1930  P S Booth 
1931 M H D'Arcy 
1932  J N Mainwaring 
1933  E Harvey 
1934  G D West 
1935  L Mickle 
1936  B Dean 
1937  A B Wallis 
1938  E Harvey 
1939  J A Dickinson 
1940  J A Dickinson 
1941  D A Gordon 
1942  D A Gordon 
1943  D A Gordon 
1944  D A Gordon 
1945  D A Gordon 
1946  T W Lowe 
1947  L W S Grinling
1948  R Dean 
1949  J R Griffin 
1950  F I Stanley 
1951 W N Gilmore
1952 L G McConomy
1953 H S Worthington
1954 W T Harrison
1955 J W Mackintosh
1956  A R C Walker 
1957  A W P Healey 
1958  G N Booth 
1959  J W Mackintosh 
1960  R E Brew 
1961  J H Crutchley 
1962  F T H Stone 
1963  A G Fulton 
1964  A G Fulton 
1965  R N Mainwaring 
1966  S T P Bakewell 
1967  W J Wells 
1968  J F Jackson 
1969  W F Jordan 
1970  J W R Gartrell 
1971  S J Craddock 
1972  R H Ceha 
1973  W Marshall 
1974  W P Clayton 
1975  I E Fraser 
1976  F Griffiths 
1977  A E Bladon 
1978  J H Elsby 
1979  C E Charnley 
1980  H J Surridge 
1981  H K Williams 
1982  T G Powell 
1983  D Chaddock 
1984  H Jamieson 
1985  L A Leach 
1986  R B Howard 
1987  L A Montgomery 
1988  D E Laidlaw 
1989  T Page 
1990  C E Dyer 
1991  G Wilkinson 
1992  K Trice 
1993  W E Baldwin 
1994  J Bickerstaff 
1995  L Bentley-Edge 
1996  G L Goodwin 
1997  E A Owen 
1998  T M Hendry 
1999  J G Roberts 
2000  P G Scott 
2001  C Jones 
2002  P G Johnston 
2003  B Phelan 
2004  S Smale 
2005  J W Hayden 
2006  J Ward 
2007  S Lanceley 
2008  J N Marsden 
2009  J G Howard 
2010  W Menagh 
2011  D A Wakefield 
2012  C D Crail 
2013 J Mallion 
2014 B Edge 
2015 J G Vaughan 
2016 J Dunne 
2017 K Campbell 
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Lee Park Golf Club

In the mid 1940s the Merseyside Jewish Golfing Society decided to establish its own course in the Liverpool area along the lines of similar clubs in Leeds, Manchester and London. The first opportunity came in 1945 when the Executors of the Atherton Estate, owners of the course at Hurst Park, Huyton, intimated their wish to sell. Sol Bennett, a member of Hurst Park at that time, summoned a meeting of Jewish golfers who agreed to offer £29,000 against the asking price of £30,000. Indecision by the Athertons caused the situation to drag on until late in 1948 by which time the Hurst Park members had managed to organise the finance and match the offer under the name of Huyton & Prescot Golf Club. Not wishing to get involved in a damaging auction, Sol and his friends withdrew their offer.

Their time had not been wasted because there was now a committed band of enthusiasts ready to respond to the next attempt, also organised by Sol Bennett. The 1954 - 2004 history of Lee Park Golf Club, compiled by Geoffrey Swift, quotes verbatim from Sol’s memoirs in which he tells of the trials and tribulations he and his friends endured before the club came into existence in 1954. Space here does not permit a full account of their efforts but it started in the Spring of 1950 when Sol spotted Lee Hall, a tumble-down mansion at Netherley and knocked on the door of the nearby farmhouse. To his delight he discovered that the farm, comprising 225 acres, was for sale and his offer to buy 75 acres was subsequently accepted with the remaining land to be sold at auction. By March 1953 the planning consents and funding were in place and Lee Park Golf Club held its first Directors Meeting. Jack Tarsh served as Captain for the first two years and Sol Bennett for the third. The first 12 holes were opened in 1954 and the remaining 6 in 1956.

Whilst Lee Hall, in its day, would have been a splendid clubhouse its condition was so poor that it was demolished and all that remains is the coach house by the 10th tee. The old farmhouse served as the first clubhouse until replaced by a new purpose built one which has been extended and refurbished over the years. After the initial euphoria, problems that had not been envisaged started to manifest themselves. The construction of four large tenement blocks were not only a blight on the landscape but also brought the unwelcome attention of children and youths bent on destruction. Despite the strenuous efforts of the greenkeeper, Terry Holmes assisted by his alsation dogs, trespass and vandalism was a constant problem which affected both the course and the clubhouse. Fish were removed from the ponds in the hope of deterring the children who gathered there and eventually the ponds were filled in. It was a great relief when the flats were demolished in 1992 thus restoring the rural landscape and the present day peaceful enjoyment of the members.

The original membership was almost entirely Jewish with a few Jewish friends. However, by the late 1970s it was obvious to the Council that falling membership was taking the club on a downward spiral and the decision was taken to actively recruit members from all faiths. It has always been a club policy to accept members from any persuasion. The success of this campaign has restored the financial stability of the club and approximately 80% of the present members are not Jewish. Lee Park is a Jewish club and observes the Jewish holy days and dietary rules. It joined the Society in 1956 and has provided two Captains, Dr Harold Cantor (1969/70) and Geoffrey Swift (1995/96).

CAPTAINS OF LEE PARK GOLF CLUB
1954 J Tarsh
1955  J Tarsh 
1956  S Bennett 
1957  H Cantor 
1958  B Lewis 
1959  F Compton
1960  H L Silverston
1961  J Sytner
1962  I Leveson
1963  S I Canter
1964  S E Goldsmith 
1965  Sir H Livermore
1966  I Samuels
1967  R Bennett 
1968  L C Wolfman 
1969  K J Stern
1970  K Shiffman 
1971  J J Rivlin
1972  A K Harris 
1973  M Sorsky 
1974  M Boher 
1975  W Ison 
1976  S Linton 
1977  D Solomon 
1978  L S Bennett 
1979  H L Goffman 
1980  S Linton 
1981  B Young 
1982  S Brayd
1983  M Beacon 
1984  G C Swift
1985  M Richard 
1986  C W Cohen
1987  D Ludzker
1988  M Mendick
1989  D English 
1990  D L Harris
1991  C Bredski
1992  S W Chinn 
1993  I Bennett 
1994 D E Webster
1995  E K Deacon 
1996  A Hurst 
1997  P M Carney 
1998  M Pevy 
1999  M B Bennett 
2000  S G Settle 
2001  C T Robinson 
2002  N R Navaneetharajah 
2003  J Lander 
2004  E M Mott-Cowan 
2005  J Gilvary 
2006  R E Townsend 
2007  I Glassman 
2008  A T Ashton 
2009  D P Towell 
2010  P Rastall 
2011  R H Stone 
2012  T W Trafford 
2013  D Mollard 
2014  Dr N Krasner 
2015  D W Ford 
2016  A Pennington 
2017  P Graff 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

 

Back to top of page



 
Ormskirk Golf Club

Situated in Lathom Park, a former seat of the Derby family, Ormskirk Golf Club came into being on 14 April 1899 when six local gentlemen promoted a meeting at the Ormskirk Workingmen’s Institute. They were all members of Southport (later changed to Hesketh) Golf Club which at that time had moved inland to Moss Lane and it is possible that the unsettled state of this club had influenced their decision to form Ormskirk. The outcome was that the founder members who attended the meeting quickly got down to business and declared the club duly constituted and proceeded to elect a Council, Trustees, Secretary, Treasurer and to name Mr H Brighouse as Captain. As he served for only part of the year he enjoyed a second term in 1900. The final decision taken at the inaugural meeting was the act of faith by 17 founder members in guaranteeing a total of £150 towards the erection of a clubhouse which was built later that year at a cost, including the furnishings, of £700.

The chosen site for the first 9 holes was New Park which at one time had been part of Lord Derby’s deer park. The course was leased from the Stanley Estates and was constructed under the direction of the former Open Champion, Harold Hilton, who played in the exhibition match when the course was opened on 2 December 1899. Hilton also supervised the construction of the second 9 holes in the adjacent Top Park which enabled the 18 hole course to be formally opened on 30 May 1903. Nine years later in 1912 the members grasped the opportunity to buy the freehold of the entire 125 acres for £5,700. The foresight of such members has to be applauded because whilst the deal appears to be incredibly cheap by today’s standards the £7,655 they had to borrow must have caused some sleepless nights.

The original clubhouse served the members until 1914 when a more substantial structure was built on the present site at a cost of £2,827. Electricity was installed in 1934, followed shortly afterwards by the addition of living accommodation for the Steward and there have been various other extensions over the years. In 1991 a new professional’s shop was built and if the cost of £75,000 seems expensive it is only a reflection on the impact of inflation. Parking problems were resolved in 1998 when the club spent £180,000 to buy and landscape an extra piece of land on which to lay a new car park on the opposite side of Cranes Lane, helpfully subsidised by a substantial refund of VAT.

Two major reconstructions have taken place since the course became 18 holes although the basic layout has not fundamentally changed. The parkland setting is now a stern but fair test of golf which has been used as a regional qualifying course for the Open Championship and to host County matches for the men and the ladies. The original 23 Lady Subscribers have now increased signi ficantly and the ladies section is well known for its support of County golf and the Liverpool Society of Lady Golf Captains.

Ormskirk was a founder member of the Society and Danny Garforth was elected as Society Captain in 1983/84, and also served as President of the Lancashire Union of Golf Clubs in 2004. Ian Gregson was the Captain of the Society for 2012, thus being the second from the club to hold this office.

CAPTAINS OF ORMSKIRK GOLF CLUB
1899 H Brighouse 
1900  H Brighouse 
1901  P R Glover 
1902  P M Hunter 
1903  J Morrison 
1904  J E Porter 
1905  J E Porter 
1906  C Stewart 
1907  J Ainsgough 
1908  E A Jones 
1909  E E Linaker 
1910  F Porter 
1911  J T Whittle 
1912  R E Hattersley 
1913  R E Hattersley 
1914  C W H Clark 
1915  T Coulton 
1916  T Coulton 
1917  T Coulton 
1918  T Coulton 
1919  T Coulton 
1920  F Potter 
1921  T G Alexander 
1922  T G Alexander 
1923  C L Worsley 
1924  W M Lowe 
1925  H J Walker 
1926  H J Cooke 
1927  H J Cooke 
1928  G Hewlett 
1929  G Hewlett 
1930  S H Sagar 
1931  C I Worsley 
1932  H P Lumby 
1933  C W W Thorpe 
1934  R E Hattersley 
1935  J T Whittle 
1936  J T Whittle 
1937  J E Glover 
1938  B R Rice-Jones 
1939  P W Makinson 
1940  C L Worsley 
1941  C L Worsley 
1942  C L Worsley 
1943  C L Worsley 
1944  C L Worsley 
1945  C L Worsley 
1946  H A Fair 
1947  W Brown 
1948  J R Holmes 
1949  J T Whittle 
1950  R H K Fair 
1951  C G R Hill 
1952  C F H Sergeant 
1953  P D Kennedy 
1954  J A Blackwood 
1955  J B Ellis 
1956  R H Gray 
1957  R S Heaton 
1958  A H M Stewart 
1959  T W Winterson 
1960  O W Ainscough 
1961  M L Forster 
1962  R F Hockin 
1963  R H K Fair 
1964  E H Ryde-Weller 
1965  C Riding 
1966  G H Riding 
1967  J A Bishop 
1968  L C Riding 
1969  N W Daish 
1970  D E Finch 
1971  L C Bullard 
1972  R R D Heaton 
1973  A Kirkham 
1974  H F Sharman 
1975  P Finch 
1976  S S Lawson 
1977  C M R Hill 
1978  D Garforth 
1979  R F Nanson 
1980  J A Bush 
1981  N Pendleton 
1982  D Edge 
1983  A J Cunnington 
1984  R J Berry 
1985  E S Morton 
1986  R L Pendleton 
1987  J M Henson 
1988  E I Linton 
1989  T Sayer 
1990  R Guy 
1991  W Caunce 
1992  J K Nuttall 
1993  H Winstanley 
1994  I M Beaton 
1995  D Howarth 
1996  A J Price 
1997  E T Hey 
1998  B A Jackson 
1999  C D Mawdsley 
2000  J G Foster 
2001  I Gregson 
2002  M Halliwell 
2003  J V Williams 
2004  J J K Price 
2005  R G Malley 
2006  P M Cowan 
2007  D B Brookfield 
2008  A Cooper 
2009  J G S Woods
2010  B W O'Brien 
2011  G E Jackson 
2012  A J Ball 
2013 W J Pendleton 
2014 K Draper 
2015 D A James 
2016 D J Eccleston 
2017  S Broster
   

Back to top of page

 
Prenton Golf Club

The 2005 Centenary book for Prenton Golf Club lists 50 other clubs in the British Isles that share their year of celebration which testi fies to the pace of interest in the game in 1905. Like many other clubs it was an informal meeting that started the ball rolling and in Prenton’s case it was a gathering on 18 February 1905 when 7 men formed themselves into a Committee and elected a President, Secretary and Treasurer. Their resolution “ that a small golfing club be formed” may in hindsight appear somewhat lacking in ambition but this perception was quickly changed when keen local interest caused the initial limit of 40 men and 20 ladies to be increased. Somewhat surprisingly, the first Captain appointed in the following year was not one of the original 7 founders, the honour going to P Harvey Dodd.

The first course of 9 holes, ranging from 130 to 280 yards, was set out in two fields that now form Waterpark Road and Elm Road. For the months of May to August the golfers had exclusive use of the land but for the rest of the year they had to give preference to other users. The rudimentary nature of the course can be gauged from the reward of one shilling given to a junior member for his suggestion that the water-filled jam jars that were sunk into the ground to mark the holes should be replaced by tin cans with holes punched in the base.

By 1908 the club had moved to a larger site nearer to Landican and had also built a substantial clubhouse. Further reconstruction of the course was interrupted by the Great War of 1914/18 when much of the course was given over to sheep and cattle grazing. On 4 May 1923 the course was formally opened with 18 holes, celebrated by an exhibition match between A G Havers and Abe Mitchell. A 40 year lease gave the club security of tenure and this was later consolidated when the club was able to purchase the freehold of the land.

German bombing raids during World War II caused damage to the clubhouse and the course. In the 1941 blitz the close proximity to the river Mersey exposed the club to attacks from land mines and incendiary bombs intended for the docks and shipyards at Birkenhead. The damage to the clubhouse was not repaired until after the war and the large cavity to the right of the present 8th green is a reminder of the damage a land mine can do, even with a controlled explosion. The making of Golf Links Road in the late 1950s left the main entrance to the clubhouse facing the wrong way and necessitating a reorganisation of the building layout. The new clubhouse was opened in 1966 and there were further alterations in the year 2000.

The Lees family played significant roles both for Prenton Golf Club and also for the Society. Father and son, G F Lees and Fred J Lees, both Captained Prenton and the latter served as Hon. Secretary and Treasurer of the Society for a period of 9 years until he was appointed its second Captain in 1948/49. Peter Dutton was Captain of the Society in 1972/73 and has played an active part in the affairs of the Cheshire and the English Golf Unions. He served as President of the Cheshire Union of Golf Clubs in 1971 and was President of the English Golf Union in 1989. Arthur Thelwell was President of the Cheshire Union in 1991 and Graham Hurton became the third Prenton member to Captain the Society in 2002/03.

CAPTAINS OF PRENTON GOLF CLUB
1906 P Harvey Dodd 
1907  G S Oldham 
1908  T B Johnston 
1909  R T Jones 
1910  E Hibbert 
1911  F Powell 
1912  C Brownridge 
1913  A B Tabb 
1914  G F Lees 
1915  E H Holford 
1916  E H Holford 
1917  F Owens 
1918  F Owens 
1919  C Craig 
1920  R J Robinson 
1921  J C Finlay 
1922  R R Hughes 
1923  W Myers 
1924  A Robinson 
1925  J M Wallace 
1926  F W Dingwall 
1927  T Robinson 
1928  E G Narrermore 
1929  W Stinton 
1930  W R Reardon 
1931  E C Clarke 
1932  A S McIvor 
1933  J F J Wood 
1934  A H Neale 
1935  E W Tame 
1936  D C Kinghorn 
1937  F J Lees 
1938  R J Griffith 
1939  E Nevylle Evans 
1940  E Nevylle Evans 
1941  J A Thomas 
1942  J A Thomas 
1943  J A Thomas 
1944  J E Allan 
1945  J E Allan 
1946  E le V Wood 
1947  E le V Wood 
1948  R O Lloyd 
1949  L B Bethel 
1950  C D Neill 
1951  R M Dutton
1952  C C Wheeler 
1953  A N Rostance 
1954  J J Nester 
1955  T A Hurton 
1956  A E Wood 
1957  H Lightfoot 
1958  E W Parry 
1959  L E G Medcalf 
1960  J A Ellis 
1961  F C Speechly 
1962  P R Dutton 
1963  F V W Crook 
1964  P L Heppard 
1965  H W Chapman 
1966  T Boggie
1967  A S Lee
1968  J W Marquis 
1969  D S Bruce 
1970  D R H Whalley 
1971  S Halliday 
1972  G C Grimmant 
1973  J B Cushing 
1974  J Wooton 
1975  G Wynne 
1976  D MacLeod 
1977  J Shackleton 
1978  A G Hurton 
1979  T F Deehan 
1989  F N Cryer 
1981  J Moorhouse 
1982  J P Duke 
1983  A Thelwell 
1984  A B Disley 
1985  J P Gaughan 
1986  J Rostence 
1987  J S T Robertson 
1988  E T Hallman 
1989  A Gilfoyle 
1990  B J Ball 
1991  J G Jones 
1992  T Flynn 
1993  D R Brockbank 
1994  G Hughes 
1995  I S Macdonald 
1996  C H Farmer 
1997  G Wyn Hughes 
1998  G J Mathieson 
1999  P B Bowes 
2000  J Darbyshire 
2001  J B Ainslie 
2002  J M Cross 
2003  R A Jackson 
2004  P L Macready 
2005  W F Cooper 
2006  G T Roberts 
2007  J I McCrindle 
2008  S L Hogg 
2009  M Yaxley 
2010  D R Williams 
2011  A J Shields 
2012  J R Bridgwater 
2013  M J Lincoln 
2014  D F Gibson 
2015  J P Burke
2016  S H Watson 
2017  G Billington 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Royal Birkdale Golf Club

Birkdale Golf Club was formed on 30 July 1889 when nine gentlemen met at the house of Mr J C Barrett and agreed to rent a piece of land at Shaw Hills, close to the junction of Liverpool Road and Bedford Road. An annual rent of £5 was accepted by the landlord, Mr Weld Blundell, who was invited to become the first President. With a budget of £5.50, which overran by 16s 3d (81p), for preparing the nine holes one can only speculate on the state of the course which opened on 5 October 1889 with Mr R G Hayward as the first Captain.

The rules of the West Lancashire Golf Club were adopted as a model for the constitution but the model omitted any provision for non-resident members. At a Special Meeting on 23 December 1889 it was discovered that there was no power to change the rules except at the Annual Meeting so those present simply dissolved the club and immediately formed another one using exactly the same name. Ladies were then permitted to use the links three days a week but not on Saturdays or Bank Holidays. A room in Mr Barrett’s house in Bedford Road was rented as a club room for the men until January 1890 when they took rooms at the adjacent Portland Hotel and the ladies were allocated the room in Mr Barrett’s house.

The landscape at Birkdale in that era was quite different from the present and all land to the West of the Southport to Liverpool railway was sandhills, apart from the Cheshire Lines railway. Waterloo Road was not connected to Liverpool Road, ending south of Grosvenor Road, and there was no station at Hillside. It was a bold decision by the members to build an 18 hole course on the present site in 1897 and agree a twenty-one year tenancy for 190 acres. A Limited Company was formed and a temporary clubhouse constructed adjacent to the present 4th green. It was subsequently discovered that the clubhouse was built on land outside the tenancy and it had to be demolished and replaced in 1904. This remained in service until 1935 when the present Art Deco style clubhouse was built.

Southport Corporation must take some credit for the club’s present standing in world golf. Having purchased the land from the Weld Blundell Estate the Corporation offered the club a 99 (now 999) years lease on condition that they remodel the course to championship standard and build a clubhouse worthy of the course. In 1931 the members approved the proposals and architects F G Hawtree and J H Taylor combined to reconstruct the course. Their plan was to lay out each hole in its own valley between the sandhills thus avoiding blind shots and they should be commended for producing one of the fairest of the Championship courses.

The club received its Royal patronage in 1951 and was awarded the Open Championship for the first time in 1954. It has hosted nine Opens including 2008, the Society's Centenary year. It has been the venue for an impressive list of major golfing events both professional and amateur, men and ladies, including a memorable Ryder Cup in 1969 when Nicklaus conceded a putt to Jacklin to halve the match on the final green. Royal Birkdale has never been afraid to move with the times and the result is a course renowned throughout the golfing world.

As a founder member, the club has produced two Society Captains, Norman Stewart (1956/57) and John Benstead (1986/87). Sadly, John died in his year of office but left a legacy in the salver that bears his name. Gordon Jeffrey has served as Captain of the R&A.

CAPTAINS OF ROYAL BIRKDALE GOLF CLUB
1890  R G Heyward
1891 W W P Shatwell 
1892  W W P Shatwell 
1893  W E Buckley 
1894  F Sandbach-Baker 
1895  W Bowker 
1896  F W H Campbell 
1897  F W H Campbell 
1898  F W Price 
1899  G H Hughes 
1900  G M Sawyer 
1901  G F Pearson 
1902  G F Pearson 
1903  R Jones 
1904  A Yates Baxter 
1905  T Aitken 
1906  H Lycett 
1907  H T Turpin 
1908  J M Dewhurst 
1909  F Gittins 
1910  T O Clinning 
1911  T O Clinning 
1912  E C Cooper Brown 
1913  T H Bedford 
1914  T H Bedford 
1915  T H Winder 
1916  T H Winder 
1917  D Goldsworth 
1918  D Goldsworth 
1919  C Southern 
1920  C Southern 
1921  R K Lee 
1922  R K Lee 
1923  J K Crook 
1924  J K Crook 
1925  C G Classford 
1926  C G Classford 
1927  T Charlton Jackson 
1928  T Charlton Jackson 
1929  N S Wood
1930  J A Scholefield 
1931  A A Wilkinson 
1932  A Eckersley-Hope 
1933  E Redmayne-Jones 
1934  S Eastwood 
1935  A Marland 
1936  T Lord  
1937  S E Charlton 
1938  J Whitehead 
1939  R H Hardman 
1940  R H Hardman 
1941  F Hooton 
1941  F Hooton 
1943  F Hooton 
1944  F Hooton 
1945  F Hooton 
1946  F D B Hill 
1947  F D B Hill 
1948  J S Smith 
1949  J S Smith 
1950 R S Kirkpatrick
1951 H F Simpson
1952 D N Stewart
1953 D N Stewart
1954 S T L Greer
1955 W G Clark
1956 B Monkhouse
1957 B H Park
1958 B H Park
1959 V Richards
1960  S R Pope
1961  G I Rushton 
1962  G R Unsworth  
1963  J G Eckersley Hope 
1964  J G Eckersley Hope 
1965  J S Wood 
1966  T S Davies 
1967  W H J Pickavance 
1968  G B B Jeffrey 
1969  R Hill 
1970  K Duncan 
1971  M S Cochrane 
1972  J G Benstead 
1973  I F D Hill 
1974  J R Miller 
1975  I A T Legge 
1976  W I Campion 
1977  D W H Coates 
1978  R J D Livesey 
1979  J G C Longhurst 
1980  J N Perrins 
1981  A Cross 
1982  J H Rigg 
1983  M R C Weeks 
1984  J H Eaves 
1985  T D Andrew 
1986  A J D Johnson 
1987  P M G Unsworth 
1988  A W D Jack 
1989  A N Stephenson 
1990  P S Fish 
1991  B M Eckersley-Hope 
1992  D S Johnson 
1993  Sir C Hewetson 
1994  M W Halsall 
1995  D A Price 
1996  J B Jones 
1997  R S Bradshaw 
1998  P K M Rostron 
1999  S D Lewis 
2000  J P Simmonds 
2001  F A Baker 
2002  D M Dunn 
2003  R M Cox 
2004  W D Hawksworth 
2005  J L Henthorn 
2006  J N Rostron 
2007  S A Wilkinson 
2008  A D Watson 
2009  J A Moralee 
2010  R M Russell
2011  M G G Hadden 
2012  S J Ludlow 
2013  J D Seal 
2014  R M Hunt 
2015  P S Griffiths 
2016  T J McGraw 
2017  M Burns 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Royal Liverpool Golf Club

In 1869 the hamlet of Hoylake was a summer resort for the local gentry whose activities centred around the Royal Hotel and the Warren on which the Liverpool Hunt Club raced its horses. Both of these establishments exerted influence in the formative years of one of the most prestigious golf clubs in the world. It started when Mr J Muir Dowie called a meeting at the Royal Hotel and a month later in June 1869 the Liverpool Golf Club had been formed and Mr Dowie elected as Captain. In the following year the name was changed to the West Lancashire and Cheshire Golf Club but at the first general meeting the new name was vetoed and the former one restored. Perhaps it was the hunting connection that encouraged the members to wear a red coat with a green collar and plain gilt buttons inscribed LGC. The club still retains the unique tradition whereby the retiring Captain passes to his successor the club’s wand of office. This carved ivory baton had been used to conduct the community singing which frequently followed club dinners. The second Captain was Col. E H Kennard and in 1871 he was instrumental in gaining the Royal prefix through the Duke of Connaught.

The Royal Hotel in Stanley Road was the first headquarters for the club and was the scene of many a convivial post-golf dinner. The Hotel was owned by the father of John Ball who went on to become part of a triumvirate with Harold Hilton and Jack Graham who dominated amateur golf in their era. The stables at the rear of the Hotel were offered to Jack Morris who was installed as the first professional and who stayed for over fifty years. His father George, brother of the legendary old Tom Morris, had come down from Scotland to help lay out the nine hole links. Fortunately for the golfers the racing had finished by the mid 1870s by which time the course had been extended to 18 named holes of which Course and Stand are reminders of the racing connotations.

The starting point was changed in 1895 when the present clubhouse was built. The Royal hole (the present 17th) was initially designated as the first followed by the present 18th as the second but this was not deemed to be a success so the present layout was adopted with the Course hole as the first. However, the original layout was temporarily restored for logistical reasons in 2006 when the Open Championship, won by Tiger Woods, returned to Hoylake. Following the Championship the members decided to return to the traditional layout.

The connection with the Open Championship started in 1897 and the club has hosted the event 11 times, including the Grand Slam by Bobby Jones in 1930. However, it is for amateur golf that Hoylake is most recognised having held the Amateur Championship 18 times including the first in 1885. It also held the first England v Scotland international, the first match between Great Britain and the USA, the first English Amateur Championship and the Walker and Curtis Cups. Its restoration to the rota for the Open Championship keeps the club in the top flight of golf clubs throughout the world.

The club was a founder member of the Society and W B Stoddart, Captain of Royal Liverpool in 1910, chaired the first recorded Society Committee Meeting on 2 July 1923. He also hosted the annual competition at Hoylake on 3 October 1923 but not as Captain as this office was not created until 1939. Roland Marshall (1949/50) and Alan Booth (1974/75) have been Captains of the Society and John Behrend served as Captain of the R&A.

CAPTAINS OF ROYAL LIVERPOOL GOLF CLUB
1869  J Muir Dowie 
1870  J Muir Dowie 
1871  E H Kennard 
1872  E H Kennard 
1873  J Dun 
1874  J Dun 
1875  W C A Milligan 
1876  H H Grierson 
1877  G R Wilson 
1878  Lt. Col. Briggs 
1879  C Crook 
1880  A Brown 
1881  F Muir 
1882  J Mansfield 
1883  C D Brown 
1884  J Cullen 
1885  B Hall Blyth 
1886  J Graham 
1887  A Sinclair 
1888  A Stewart 
1889  J B Fortune 
1890  C Hutchins 
1891  H W Hind 
1892  S G Sinclair 
1893  T L Ferguson 
1894  H G Hutchinson 
1895  H R Robertson 
1896  G C H Dunlop 
1897  T W Crowther 
1898  F Dun 
1899  W S Patterson 
1900  G R Cox 
1901  E Evans 
1902  A G Rankine 
1903  F Holdroyd 
1904  G Pilkington 
1905  H R C Sievwright 
1906  P Brown 
1907  A M Patterson 
1908  G E Godwin 
1909  A G Lyster 
1910  W B Stoddart 
1911  E R Moodie 
1912  E A Beazley 
1913  E V Crooks 
1914  J H Clayton 
1915  J H Clayton 
1916  J H Clayton 
1917  J H Clayton 
1918  J H Clayton 
1919  J H Clayton 
1920  G H McDiarmid 
1921  G Stewart 
1922  E B Orme 
1923  J P Brocklebank 
1924  A J Graham 
1925  W E Mounsey 
1926  J Baxter 
1927  A Kentish Barnes 
1928  S Downs 
1929 K Stoker 
1930 J G B Beazley 
1931 F Brocklehurst 
1932 P W Leathart 
1933 J Pegram 
1934 R Marshall 
1935 F D Sharples 
1936 Sir P E Bates 
1937 V D Heyne 
1938 W B Charles 
1939 E O Glover 
1940 E O Glover 
1941 E O Glover 
1942 E O Glover 
1943 E O Glover 
1944 E O Glover 
1945 E O Glover 
1946  F L Orme 
1947  R J Hodges 
1948  D M Ritchie 
1949  T W Harley 
1950  D Toby 
1951  A J Kennish Barnes 
1952  E R Orme 
1953  E R Orme 
1954  N W Roberts 
1955  J L Postlethwaite 
1956  J A Graham 
1957  G G Beazley 
1958  G F Williamson 
1959  J D W Renison 
1960  J M Marshall 
1961  E Birchall 
1962  A N L Warnock 
1963  R H Smith 
1964  W T G Bates 
1965  A G L Lowe 
1966  W S Hulme 
1967  M H Williams 
1968  J C Lawrie 
1969  Rt. Hon. Selwyn Lloyd 
1970  D H L Shone 
1971  A S Booth 
1972  A H T Crosthwaite 
1973  T Draper Williams 
1974  J R Turner 
1975  V E Sangster 
1976  J E Behrend 
1977  D Staveley Taylor 
1978  T G Leighton 
1979  L Briggs 
1980  J A Brocklehurst 
1981  A W Shone 
1982  R T Robinson 
1983  J Rees Roberts 
1984  D H S Pain 
1985  J H Spence 
1986  K V Dodman 
1987  J A Colvin 
1988  N C Williams 
1989  T J Marshall 
1990  L M White 
1991  F D M Lowry 
1992  G A Maxwell 
1993  D G Beazley 
1994  J D W Maxwell 
1995  N A Wainwright 
1996  P L Canevali 
1997  A W Renison 
1998  J N Kennefick 
1999  P J M Stern 
2000  K J A O'Brien 
2001  D P Norval 
2002  J C B Pinnington 
2003  S B Duncan 
2004  G H Brown 
2005  J G Turner 
2006 A J Cross 
2007 R Chadwick 
2008 M G M Groves 
2009 P H Cassidy 
2010 A E R Noble 
2011 N J Peel
2012 B T Bell 
2013  R C C Taylor 
2014  A J Beggs 
2015  R McBurney 
2016  D Smith 
2017  Dr B W Taylor 
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
Southport & Ainsdale Golf Club

The Grosvenor Golf Club held its inaugural event in June 1906, having been formed a few months earlier by a mixed group of card players from a Whist Club bearing that name. At this meeting 24 men and 27 ladies took part in a shotgun start testifying to the social nature of the club. Within six months the name had changed to Southport and Ainsdale Golf Club, later to be affectionately known as S&A. The 9 hole course was built at Birkdale on a 32 acre triangle of land bounded by the Liverpool & Southport Railway line and what is now Blundell Drive and Conyers Avenue. Like many courses from that era the layout was rudimentary with jam pots for holes and rails of posts and wires to keep farmer Lloyd’s cattle off the greens. Banks of earth several feet high, known as “cops”, were retained as golf hazards which also helped to prevent the sandy soil from being blown away in the wind.

The instant success encouraged the Committee to seek a new venue to accommodate the increasing numbers and to formalise the structure of the club. A suitable piece of land had been identi fied on the Weld-Blundell Estate and George Lowe, the professional at Lytham, was paid a fee of ten guineas as Architect for the new course. A Limited Liability Company was formed and at the first General Meeting in February 1907 Mr F W Smith was elected Captain and later that year his wife was elected the first Lady Captain.

The new 18 hole course, 5,600 yards long, was opened on 14 May 1907 with a Whit mixed foursome competition. It was built on approximately 100 acres of land, of which part is on the present site. The railway once more provided the western boundary with the inland boundary dictated by development along Liverpool Road South. The northern boundary was close to Sandon Road and the southern boundary was level with Birkdale Cemetery. A tall ridge of sandhills at this point marks the signature hole of S&A, the present 16th hole. On the proposal of Hobart Gumbley it was decided to leave this ridge as a hazard and to create a huge bunker using railway sleepers to face it. The blind second shot over “Gumbleys” has ruined many a scorecard and will no doubt continue to do so for years to come.

By August 1908 a new two-storey clubhouse had been constructed at the northern end of the course in Liverpool Road. However, in October 1921 the members were shocked to learn from Southport Corporation that they planned to extend Waterloo Road to join up with Liverpool Road, thus isolating some land and the clubhouse from the rest of the course. Fortunately, compensatory land at the southern end was available and the 18 holes measuring 6,350 yards were restored by September 1923. The old clubhouse was converted into two houses and a new bungalow style clubhouse was built at Bradshaws Lane. The club survived subsequent loss of land for houses but eventually was able to secure the future tenure when on 29 June 1964 the members bought the freehold for £27,919.

In 1933 the club hosted the Ryder Cup in which Great Britain and Ireland beat the team from the USA but when the match returned to S&A in 1937 the result went in favour of the Americans. Dr David Marsh won national recognition as President of the EGU and Captain of the R&A and has received the Gerald Micklem Award for services to golf. As a founder member of the Society S&A has had three Captains, Tom Barker (1957/58), Stan Dickinson (1982/83) and in 2008 Eddie Williams became the Centenary Captain.

CAPTAINS OF SOUTHPORT & AINSDALE GOLF CLUB
1907 F W Smith
1908  S J F Murphy 
1909  D J Mulholland 
1910  A Williamson 
1911  E Blackburn 
1912  W Parry 
1913  T Mawdsley 
1914  G Boycott 
1915  A Appleton 
1916  H W Andrews 
1917  W J Yates 
1918  G Roscoe 
1919  F S Yates 
1920  F Lomax 
1921  F T Hargreave 
1922  J Crompton 
1923  E Blackburn Jnr 
1924  E C Taylor 
1925  T S McKenzie 
1926  R J Ridout 
1927  A P Douglas 
1928  J Lawrie
1929  H Stevens 
1930  H Stevens 
1931  A T Marcroft 
1932  A T Marcroft 
1933  P Carter 
1934  E P Taylor 
1935  J Marshall 
1936  H Prestt 
1937  H Prestt 
1938  F Crewe Roden 
1939  W Bloor 
1940  W Bloor 
1941  A Bradley Dixon 
1942  A B Dawson 
1943  F Orr 
1944  L Birkett 
1945  L Birkett 
1946  J A Sloan
1947  J A Sloan 
1948  J Moore 
1949  G S Butler 
1950  T W Barker 
1951  I G W Newington 
1952  J T Watts 
1953  H Cameron Booth 
1954  E C Hoesli 
1955  J J Smith 
1956  A R Ball 
1957  C S Cullen 
1958  F Brewer 
1959  H Murphy 
1960 J Bonar Wood  
1961  H Standish 
1962  L Bowan 
1963  A E Charnley 
1964  T M Bunting 
1965  R F Hardiman 
1966  C B Smith 
1967 D M Marsh
1968  C G Erskine 
1969  W E Wilding 
1970  J R Gregory 
1971  S Dickinson 
1972  J R Walker 
1973  E Simms 
1974  D E Ritchie 
1975  G A Wade 
1976  W J Harris 
1977  J G Graham 
1978  J Brennan
1979  J V Cubbon 
1980  J Wilson 
1981  E J Williams 
1982  R W Preston 
1983  M Edwards  
1984  H Beddows 
1985  R N Backhouse 
1986  M A Bennett 
1987  J V O'Rourke 
1988  A R Greaves 
1989  P W Lennon 
1990  P S Joyce 
1991  H F Waterson 
1992  I White 
1993  P Wilding 
1994  K Ritchie 
1995  S F Jackson 
1996  D J Ball 
1997  W P Whinnett 
1998  L D Morgan 
1999  M Attenborough 
2000  R Draper 
2001  A J Ravey 
2002  C B Walker 
2003  G O Thomas 
2004  G C Fisher 
2005  E Cheesman 
2006  P B Gwynne 
2007  S J Bond 
2008  N Leadbetter 
2009  R W A Underwood 
2010  P Jackson 
2011  D J Hindle 
2012  J MacLachlan
2013  G B Gordon 
2014  J C Moorcroft 
2015  K Davis 
2016  D E Walker 
2017  D Rich 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page



 
Wallasey Golf Club

Wallasey Village in 1891 consisted of a picturesque street of cottages and crofts populated by fishermen and agricultural workers. The 18 hole golf course built that year was constructed partly on the sand dunes to the North and East and on the “ flatlands” to the south and west.The land was owned by Frederick and Heath Harrison of the shipping line that still bears their name and they agreed to lease the 240 acres for an initial term of 15 years. The first meeting on 1 June 1891 was attended by eight men including R W “Pendulum” Brown and James Cullen who were the leading spirits. A month later the Wallasey Golf Club was formed and Messrs Brown and Cullen were the first two Captains.

Tom Morris laid out the 5,175 yard course and Bob Kirk supervised the construction and stayed on as the first professional. The Harrisons offered to build a clubhouse to be leased to the club and this was opened on Christmas Eve 1892. It is still in use today, albeit extended and refurbished and now owned by the club. Access to the clubhouse was initially primitive with no roads nearby and only one other house within a quarter of a mile. Improvements to the approaches were made in 1898 and a bicycle shed was built for the members.

Sand encroachment was always a problem and the planting of marram grass to stabilise the dunes was continual work. During the first World War with membership at a low ebb the situation became critical when tons of sand blew over the links and obliterated several of the finest holes, four of which had to be abandoned. By the end of the war only 135 acres could be played upon and the very existence of the club was threatened. To add to the threat the Harrison family had sold the links to Wallasey Corporation without consulting the golf club. On the positive side, the Corporation later spent a considerable sum on mending the sea defences and building a promenade from Harrison Drive to Leasowe Bay. Following further tribulations with the new landlords a fresh lease was agreed and a Limited Company formed in 1929. The future of the course was secured in 1986 when a 99 year lease was signed.

Of all the Wallasey Captains one name stands out above the rest. Dr Frank Stableford was Captain in 1933 and he persuaded the Council to run a competition with points awarded for a score instead of playing against the bogey (par) for the hole. On 16 May 1932 history was made when the first Stableford competition was played and the Wallasey members, after initial scepticism, greeted it with enthusiasm. Everyone played off scratch and added his handicap to the points scored but after the Autumn gales it was realised that if no-one scored any points the highest handicapper would win. The system was soon revised to the one still used today and for which amateur golfers throughout the world have reason to be grateful.

World War II found Wallasey in the front line with mine fields and anti-tank obstacles laid on the seaside fairways and anti-aircraft guns spread over the course. It was not until 1952 that the course was fully restored and the members allowed to benefit from the earlier works of James Braid and Fred Hawtree. Wallasey is used as a qualifying course when the Open is played at Hoylake to provide a stiff test of golf for the professionals.

As a founder member Wallasey has provided three Captains of the Society, Frederick Moore (1953/54), Donald Falconer (1971/72) and Huw Rowlands (2005/06).

CAPTAINS OF WALLASEY GOLF CLUB
 1891 R W Brown 
 1892 R W Brown 
 1893 J Cullen 
 1894 G C H Dunlop 
 1895 R Haigh 
 1896 R Stubbs 
 1897 Sir W M Banks 
 1898 G Jager 
 1899 R S Cleaver 
 1900 J H Clayton 
 1901 W H Wallace 
 1902 N A G Dowie 
 1903 J Heron 
 1904 T B Grimsdale 
 1905 S Castle 
 1906 R H Gossage 
 1907 G R Cox 
 1908 J Cameron 
 1909 R Goold 
 1910 S Deacon 
 1911 Sir E Evans 
 1912 Sir A G Jeans 
 1913 R Barber 
 1914 Sir A Bigland 
 1915 J Cameron 
 1916 J Cameron 
 1917 S Deacon 
 1918 Sir A G Jeans 
 1919 Sir A B Cauty 
 1920 Sir J Sandeman Allen 
 1921 G P Newbolt 
 1922 D MacIver 
 1923 W J H Renison 
 1924 Sir E B Royden 
 1925 W D Taylor 
 1926 Sir L A P Warner 
 1927 H E Wild 
 1928 C S Walker 
 1929 T T Rees 
 1930 J Boardman 
 1931 W Milligan 
 1932 T B Handley 
 1933 F B G Stableford 
 1934 Sir R E Kelly 
 1935 C H Newport 
 1936 F A Moore 
 1937 A C Crichton 
 1938 E Evans 
 1939 C W Hesketh 
 1940 C W Hesketh 
 1941 C W Hesketh 
 1942 C W Hesketh 
 1943 C W Hesketh 
 1944 C W Hesketh 
 1945 C W Hesketh 
 1946 T J Benjamin 
 1947 G J Swanwick 
 1948 L Barnish 
 1949 B T Hawkins 
 1950 A J PHelan 
 1951 W E J Warrell 
 1952 L H Fairbrother 
 1953 H Beggs 
 1954 W Cartwright 
 1955 J H Wensley 
 1956 A G Harrison 
 1957 A F Clarke 
 1958 H M Ellison 
 1959 R P Fletcher 
 1960 G D Falconer 
 1961 J A Taylor 
 1962 L J Fazackerley 
 1963 S Carter 
 1964 J P Davies 
 1965 W G Allen 
 1966 A C Tarbuck 
 1967 R Whalley 
 1968 F V Davies 
 1969 H C Reynolds 
 1970 C W Marsh 
 1971 W M C McKinley 
 1972 J M Smith 
 1973 L F Walton 
 1974 W G Petty 
 1975 D C Davies 
 1976 J Reynolds 
 1977 E W Hallwood 
 1978 J J Pierpoint 
 1979 D Ross 
 1980 N Rothwell 
 1981 F D Jeffries 
 1982 D Pearson 
 1983 E Hirst 
 1984 A G L Fazackerley 
 1985 D H Reade 
 1986 R J Eccleshall 
 1987 A D Jordan 
 1988 H E Rowlands 
 1989 J A Bott 
 1990 J T Thompson 
 1991 J V Davies 
 1992 W H Windsor 
 1993 J A Lane 
 1994 P W Quinn 
 1995 A R Potter 
 1996 E Roberts 
 1997 J A Connolly 
 1998 G E Avison 
 1999 K W Hailwood 
 2000 A M O'Callaghan 
 2001 J Williamson 
 2002 J T Courtney 
 2003 N W Bennett 
 2004 H L Jamieson 
 2005 A L Davies 
 2006 J A McCullagh 
 2007 B D Harry 
 2008 J Overend 
 2009 N W M Brierton 
 2010 P Andrews 
 2011 G Holcroft 
 2012 M G O'Callaghan 
 2013 W K Wylde 
 2014 T R Hill 
 2015 C Kerin 
 2016 P H Corvers 
 2017 P M Waters 
   
   
   

 

Back to top of page

 
West Derby Golf Club

The billiard room of New Heys, the Sandfield Park home of Mr Charles Petrie, was the venue on 10 July 1895 for the first meeting of the founding fathers of West Derby Golf Club. The eleven men who attended decided to form a Provisional Committee with Mr T L Davies as Honorary Secretary. The land selected for their 9 hole course belonged to Col. Hollinshead Blundell of Deysbrook Hall and a lease was agreed for 50 acres between Yew Tree Lane and the public footpath on the Deysbrook Hall Estate. Mr H J Chisholm, a founding member, is credited with being the principal architect of the original 9 holes, which were opened for play a year later on 29 July 1896. Mr Petrie, later knighted and a Lord Mayor of Liverpool, was elected Captain for the first two years followed by Mr Chisholm for the next two years.

By 1897 the membership comprised 100 men and 70 ladies and in the following year the Rt. Hon. Frederick Arthur Stanley, 16th Earl of Derby, accepted the invitation to be the club’s first President. The Committee allocated £100 for the building of a wooden pavilion and a shed for bicycles. Albert Haskins volunteered his services as groundsman, professional and coach, promising to do the tasks for no pay as he believed that he could make a living from sales, repairs and golf lessons. He was to serve the Club for 40 years until his retirement in 1936 when he was made an honorary member for life. His successor, Harry Rudd, almost matched this with 38 years of service until he retired in 1974.

On four occasions fires caused damage to the clubhouse, the most serious being shortly after the end of the first World War. Having survived a Government decree in 1917 that the course must be ploughed, the clubhouse was totally destroyed by fire in 1919. The insurance proceeds enabled a new clubhouse to be built but this too was lost to a fire in 1929. Twelve months later a new clubhouse was opened and is still serving the members, albeit having been extended and refurbished over the years. By the time the new clubhouse was opened in 1930 the course had been extended to 18 holes. A series of land deals between 1927 and 1931 enabled the club to purchase additional adjacent land and also secure the future by buying the original 50 acres. Messrs Kirkwood, Medrington & Hassell were the architects appointed to design the new course which was officially opened on 11 April 1931.

West Derby had its share of action during the second World War when a number of barrage balloons and a Royal Artillery gun battery were sited on the course. On the night of 21/22 December 1940 the battery fired 842 rounds against enemy aircraft out of a Brigade total of 11,200 rounds. The post-war period in the fifties was not without its problems when the club was threatened with a compulsory purchase order for a major part of the land. Having survived this threat the club embarked on a visionary tree planting scheme in the sixties with over 4,000 specimens covering 60 species. These have now matured to provide a course that is well defined and a pleasurable test of golf in a parkland setting.

As a founder member of the Society West Derby were well represented at the inaugural meeting in 1908. The Club has provided three Society Captains, Gerald Papworth (1952/53), Tom Wolfenden (1989/90), and the current (2014/15) Society Captain Alan Morris. A trophy to commemorate Tom’s service to the Society is played for by the “over 65s” at the Autumn Meeting.

CAPTAINS OF WEST DERBY GOLF CLUB
1896 Sir C Petrie
1897 Sir C Petrie
1898 H J Chisolm
1899 H J Chisolm
1900 D Ackerley
1901 G Nickson
1902 G Bowler
1903 R Hall
1904 T Henshaw
1905 W Grace
1906 V Boyle
1907 H Ferns
1908 Dr Cooke
1909 R Fitzgerald
1910 M Brown
1911 T Eaton-Jones
1912 W C Manifold
1913 G Barclay
1914 W W Robinson
1915 W W Robinson
1916 T Henshaw
1917 E J Parker
1918 E J Parker
1919 J H Glover
1920 J H Glover
1921 W F Holloway
1922 R Nixon
1923 V S Cousins
1924 R L Burns
1925 W Baines
1926 W H Johnson
1927 W Montgomery
1928 W Montgomery
1929 W Montgomery
1930 W Montgomery
1931 W Montgomery
1932 G O Papworth
1933 T V Williams
1934 W O Rushman
1935 J Tomkinson
1936 W R Irving
1937 F Jackson
1938 H A Lee
1939 J W Clare
1940 J W Clare
1941 J W Clare
1942 J W Clare
1943 J W Clare
1944 W G Williamson
1945 W G Williamson
1946 L A Gow
1947 A Williams
1948 TV Platt
1949 A E Mackenzie
1950 A E Mackenzie
1951 C A Molyneux
1952 J L White
1953 G S Robinson
1954 W J Chisnall
1955 M A Reece
1956 M A Reece
1957 F M Pollock
1958 E C Bolton
1959 E C Bolton
1960 H McMath
1961 A Phillips
1962 O Gerrard
1963 W C K Owen
1964 J A Taylor
1965 J Cruces
1966 J E Rogers
1967 R L Bennett
1968 G E Ewing
1969 J Marshall
1970 G E Crawford
1971 L R Clare
1972 L R Clare
1973 A Bannister
1974 E J Horton
1975 W Brewer
1976 R H Owen
1977 H C Wilde
1978 T B Wolfenden
1979 I W Richards
1980 K Jones
1981 J Hale
1982 J F Donoghue
1983 A S Waters
1984 E M Geoghegan
1985 C B Townsend
1986 S M Williams
1987 R Weinberg
1988 P A Rawcliffe
1989 P B Bedwin
1990 W H Waters
1991 A J Winthorpe
1992 H J Perris
1993 F E Lucas
1994 P T Sarsfield
1995 A F Edmondson
1996 G H Low
1997 I G Walker
1998 J Kennedy
1999 F P Gerhard
2000 L A Rogers
2001 A J Morris
2002 A Houghton
2003 J Lucas
2004 P Bennett
2005 S B Upham
2006 M G Jones
2007 D F Thompson
2008 G H Wallace
2009 B N Reid
2010 E N Kinsey
2011 R G Chapman
2012 D F Yates
2013 J Leight
2014 D H Sanders
2015 W J Mainwaring
2016 P Holland
2017  G Williams 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Back to top of page

 
West Lancashire Golf Club

Situated on the country’s largest dune complex, West Lancs is listed in the top ten oldest golf clubs in England and is second only in the Society to Royal Liverpool. This position of eminence ensures that the reigning Captains of both clubs have a busy year in office with the lion’s share of the speaking engagements. The Hoylake connection started with the formation of the club when seven members of Royal Liverpool met at the Seaforth Hotel on 17 June 1873. The 9 hole course that they laid out to the east of the railway line was on land owned by Colonel Blundell who accepted office as the first President. Mr Alexander Whytt, one of many Scotsmen who joined as founder members, was elected as the first Captain.

By 1880 a clubhouse had been built at a cost of £361 and the course extended to 18 holes. The clubhouse was expanded and refurbished over two storeys in 1893. David Lowe was appointed as the first professional to be followed in later years by two winners of the Open Championship, Sandy Herd and Arthur Havers. In 1894 the club took over the Warren on the seaward side of the railway and built 9 holes on each side of the track, linked by a bridge. Hall Road station had been built for the benefit of the club and neighbouring houses and the electri fication of the railway in 1904 provided good access from Liverpool and the Wirral. Apart from some reconstruction in 1921 the course remained unchanged for over 50 years.

The West Lancashire (Ladies) Golf Club was formed on 26 October 1891 playing on their own course on the seaward side of the railway, adjacent to the mens’ course. They had their own clubhouse and enjoyed a thriving membership including gentlemen as Associate members. The two courses co-existed happily until 1947 by which time they had both been ravaged by military occupation during the second World War and the effects of sand erosion. The ladies agreed to disband and amalgamate with the men which resulted in an 18 hole course for the mixed club operating entirely to the west of the railway.

Maintaining two clubhouses was proving to be expensive and plans were drawn up for a new concept style clubhouse to serve the mixed membership. Funded partly by the sale of unwanted sand, the construction started in March 1961 and the clubhouse was opened on 14 May 1962. Simultaneously, a new course was designed by G K Cotton to fully integrate the 18 holes on the seaward side of the railway and on 12 June 1961 the present course was opened. The land to the east of the railway was given back to the Blundell Estate in exchange for land to the west and the two former clubhouses were sold. A new 99 year lease was agreed thus securing the future of the course. The members now enjoy a course of Championship standards, regularly used as a qualifying venue when the Open is played at Royal Birkdale.

The history of golf at Blundellsands is commemorated in an excellent book written by Barry Coyne and dedicated to the City of Liverpool, European Capital of Culture 2008. As befits its long history and founder membership of the Society, West Lancs has produced many men who have achieved high office. G P Young (1954/55), Walter Nelson (1967/68) and Derek Vaux (1996/97) have all served as Society Captains and F Stanley Morris (1951/52) died in office having been Captain of West Lancs and of Formby. F C Marsh and Michael Taggart have served as President of the Lancashire Golf Union.

CAPTAINS OF WEST LANCASHIRE GOLF CLUB
 1874  A H Whytt
 1875  A H Whytt
 1876  A Toddart
 1877  J Dun
 1878  H Staveley Taylor
 1879  R Galloway
 1880  W H Brook
 1881  J Ashcroft
 1882  R D Welch
 1883  G B Rodway
 1884  D Inglis
 1885  C C Deane
 1886  A Stewart
 1887  H Durandu
 1888  Sir W Mitchell Banks
 1889  J W Fowler
 1890  J Faircliugh
 1891  G R Cox
 1892  T R Job
 1893  C McLaren
 1894  A G Rankine
 1895  F W Cornelius
 1896  H E Clare
 1897  E Evans Jnr
 1898  W C Clark
 1899  W Rowlands
 1900  H J Chisolm
 1901  J E Pearson
 1902  F Harrison
 1903  T Shelmerdine
 1904  Sir B S Johnson
 1905  W K Fernie
 1906  H Cotterell
 1907  H C Woodward
 1908  W Gracie
 1909  C E Neild
 1910  W Buckley
 1911  G L Burton
 1912  F N Blundell
 1913  H A Scott Barratt
 1914  S R Weightman
 1915  J S Webster
 1916  J S Webster
 1917  S R Weightman
 1918  S R Weightman
 1919  S R Weightman
 1920  W G West
 1921  P J Taylor
 1922  J A Marsh
 1923  Sir R Connell
 1924  A D Mearns
 1925  W E Stacey
 1926  J E B Littlebury
 1927  F S Morris
 1928  E C Edgecombe
 1929  A G Gullan
 1930  J J Atkinson
 1931  H E Young
 1932  A E Frankland
 1933  T Purgold
 1934  A Gunnell
 1935  R O Edwards
 1936  G P Young
 1937  G Blackledge
 1938  E Allen
  1939   D Higson
  1940   D Higson
 1941   D Higson
 1942   D Higson
 1943   D Higson
 1944   D Higson
 1945   D Higson 
 1946  D Higson 
 1947  W L Nelson 
 1948  M R Telfer
 1949  J B Roberts
 1950  F C Marsh
 1951  T B S Johnson
 1952  R Wallace
 1953  E S Burroughs
 1954  S B McQueen
 1955  T B Roberts
 1956  B A Snodgrass
 1957  G Tomkinson
 1958  G Coker
 1959  T A Cawdy
 1960  A F Murphy
 1961  R T Dransfield
 1962  W L Nelson
 1963  D R Telfer
 1964  F M Reade
 1965  J A Banks
 1966  F D Robinson
 1967  D H Greene
 1968  W G Watson
 1969  P D Tomkinson
 1970  J S Cothliff
 1971  E L Ashton
 1972  A L Stevens
 1973  T B S Johnson
 1974  H G Williams
 1975  V K Summers
 1976  P R Papworth
 1977  G H Edington
 1978  A J Bathurst
 1979  P R Deyes
 1980  D A Bastow
 1981  G Edey
 1982  R F Tulley
 1983  R Sidlow
 1984  I H Morris-Jones
 1985  R Havard
 1986  D S Vaux
 1987  J M Taggart
 1988  G K B Dearlove
 1989  E A Jardine
 1990  B A Coyne
 1991  P J R Evans
 1992  R W Softley
 1993  K Howard
 1994  K Wilson
 1995  L C Coligan
 1996  C C H Barker
 1997  A E Birmingham
 1998  A R Metcalfe
 1999  R B Howarth
 2000  H C Tunnicliffe
 2001  B McCaul
 2002  A Kirby
 2003  G A Potter
 2004  J A Bambery
 2005  I A Duckett
 2006  P S Rooney
 2007  M D Stone
 2008  U Pfeiffer
 2009  D K McDowell
 2010  P W Gee
 2011  J W Morris
 2012  D J Dunne
 2013  T E Dickinson
 2014  D W McDermott
 2015   N R Dalton
 2016  A Sharma
 2017   I A Douglas


 Back to top of page

 
Widnes Golf Club

The decision to form a golf club at Widnes was taken at a meeting in the Town Hall on 12 January 1923. However, the members had to wait until 17 May of the following year to see the President, Dr G C Clayton, drive off the first tee to open the 9 hole course. The delay was due to the inability of the land Trustees to conclude a quick transaction, coupled with indecision on the part of the Committee as to whether to buy or rent the land. The deal was concluded when the United Alkali Company, later to become ICI, offered to buy the land and lease it to the club. In contrast, the clubhouse was built and occupied within three months. Lady membership was a feature from the start, laying down the foundations for an active and supportive Ladies Section.

The nearby Woolton Golf Club was influential in the foundation of Widnes as two of the main instigators, John Hardman and Dr Sam McCausland, were both Woolton members and they became the first two Widnes Captains. The professional at Woolton also helped to map out the new course on Lower House Farm and one of his assistants became the first Widnes professional. In 1925 a further 6 holes were built and by 1929 the full complement of 18 holes were in play. An extensive tree planting scheme at that time was not a success due to the unfortunate atmospheric conditions that prevailed. Sadly the greenkeeper’s horse, Dolly, was put down having been deemed unfit for work. Her value was removed from the Balance Sheet at a cost of £14 and when her 8 year old successor was found to be suffering from a cold the Council kindly bought a horse blanket. The club moved into the mechanical age in 1931 with the purchase of a second-hand tractor.

In 1952, having survived the ravages of the Second World War, the club was obliged to accept a loss of land when ICI sold some for housing. The 1960’s brought better fortune for the club, even if this was partly due to the misfortune of another. The closure of the Mersey Golf Club at Fiddlers Ferry when their clubhouse burnt down brought an influx of welcome new members. In 1963 negotiations were completed with Lancashire County Council for the purchase of some extra adjacent land. The new course layout was officially opened with a Pro/Am competition on 11 June 1967 and at the end of that year the Trustees of the club succeeded in completing the purchase from ICI of the freehold for the sum of £5,000. As owners of their own land the club now had the confidence to extend and refurbish the clubhouse over the ensuing years.

In 1998 the members were informed by Council of the possibility of part of the ground on which the club was located being developed for housing and a plan was evolved with a developer to re-house the course on a new purpose-built site to the north of the town. After many years of protracted negotiations it would appear as those plans have not come to fruition.

Widnes joined the Society when their 1969 Captain, Ray Pownall, and five Past-Captains were admitted on 20 March 1970. Their membership had been conditional on the Captains agreeing to wear red tail coats on all formal occasions, which they were happy to do.  Norman Rigby was the first from Widnes to serve as Society Captain (1979/80) followed by Peter Hurst (2006/07). Norman also served as President of the Lancashire Golf Union, and Peter has been the Honorary Secretary of the Society since 2009.

CAPTAINS OF WIDNES GOLF CLUB
 1924  J Hardman 
 1925 J Hardman 
 1926 S M McCausland 
 1927 E Hartland 
 1928 J E Hughes 
 1929 W E Jones 
 1930 T Swale 
 1931 J Swale 
 1932 W E Ireland 
 1933 W Joynson 
 1934 R Calland 
 1935 J H Davies 
 1936 R Tomlinson 
 1937 A D Haws 
 1938 H N Hughes 
 1939 W Owens 
 1940 A Williams 
 1941 J Holt 
 1942 J Holt 
 1943 J Holt 
 1944 J Holt 
 1945 J Holt 
 1946 J Timmins 
 1947 F H Hume 
 1948 W Stevenson 
 1949 E Bailey 
 1950 E G Patterson 
 1951 G L Park 
 1952 W H Nickson 
 1953 F N Kitchen 
 1954 H Jackson 
 1955 D B R Whitfield 
 1956 A Hartles 
 1957 A Radley 
 1958 H Kerfoot 
 1959 C Nelson 
 1960 J D Jones 
 1961 E Wilson 
 1962 N O'B Baker 
 1963 Dr P Hurst 
 1964 K Jackson 
 1965 H Morris 
 1966 M F Johnson 
 1967 M M Chisell 
 1968 J N Rigby 
 1969 R Pownall 
 1970 J E Burke 
 1971 A Daintith 
 1972 W Whittaker 
 1973 Dr G M Paddle 
 1974 E G Patterson 
 1975 H Gow 
 1976 J A Hogg 
 1977 C Varley 
 1978 R Hunt 
1979 Dr C L Imison
1980 W H Evans 
1981 Dr S Sunderland 
1982 D Howard 
1983 J S Black 
1984 R Jones 
1985 P J Green 
1986 J Rogers 
1987 T R Adams 
1988 M Barrow 
1989 P H Hurst 
1990 F P Roberts 
1991 R Williamson 
1992 M E Tickle 
1993 G B Wilson 
1994 J M Phillips 
1995 K A Fletcher 
1996 J E Atherton 
1997 M R Jones 
1998 C N Kevan 
1999 A F Mansley 
2000 A Jennion 
2001 A Seddon 
2002 G Grace 
2003 J Stonehouse 
2004  R C Masters 
2005 D Gould 
2006 D Ormesher 
2007 J Penney 
2008 V D Jackson 
2009 F C Tobin 
2010 P Morris 
2011 J B Mawer 
2012 Dr A K Irving 
2013  J C McNally 
2014 J J Price 
2015  L A Horrocks 
2016  M A Wyatt 
2017  G A Bradshaw 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

 

Back to top of page

 
Wigan Golf Club

In his Foreword to Jack Winstanley’s book “ The Wigan Century” Hugh Griffiths, a Past Captain of the R&A, described his first impression of the club that “..... lies like some secret garden to be entered only by those privileged to be its members or fortunate enough to be their guests”. He was referring to a course and clubhouse that was totally unique and which had managed to survive for over a hundred years with only 9 holes.

The home and surgery of Dr Charles Brady at 50 Newmarket Street, Wigan, was the place where eight men gathered on 19 October 1898. Some spadework had already been done as it was soon agreed that the Arley site should be rented for the course and the Hall used for a clubhouse. Sir Francis Sharp Powell, the long-serving Member of Parliament for Wigan, accepted office as President and A A Leech, a mining engineer, was elected as the first Captain. Thee original subscribers were mostly professional or businessmen and it took five meetings before it was agreed that ladies could join, subject to certain constraints. The course was laid out by George Lowe, the professional at St. Anne’s (later Royal Lytham and St. Anne’s) who had been apprenticed to Tom Morris of St Andrews. One of the features that sets Wigan apart from other golf clubs is its clubhouse. Arley Hall occupies the site of an old abbey dating back to the 12th century and some of the old part still remains at the back of the building, the front having been rebuilt in 1767. It is surrounded by a moat which supports swans and kingfishers and is accessed over a bridge so any thoughts of building an extension are doomed to failure. It passed through several hands as a private residence but was uninhabited when the club was formed. The peaceful enjoyment of the members lasted until 1939 when the Committee was embroiled in contentious negotiations with the landowners which lasted for seven years. Th e club was saved when agreement was reached in 1946 to buy the freehold in the name of a new Limited Company.

The name of John Wild is synonymous with Wigan Golf Club. He joined as a junior in 1935 and served in the war as a glider pilot and although reported killed he survived as a prisoner of war. He was elected Captain in 1966, Society Captain in 1976/77, Lancashire Union President in 1985 and President of the English Golf Union in 1985. As a raconteur he has made many hundreds of after-dinner speeches entertaining audiences throughout the world, especially with his club’s mythical correspondence with the R&A seeking to persuade them to bring the Open Championship to Wigan. Prince Andrew, the Duke of York, was so intrigued by one of John’s speeches that on 17 September 1995 he visited for a quiet four-ball followed by some “proper golf club” steak pie and chips. He was made an Honorary Life Member and returned on 30 January 1998 as the chief guest at the Centenary Dinner under the Captaincy of Ted Walmsley.

Sydney Marsden was Captain in 1932 when Wigan joined the Society and he later served as Lancashire President from 1937 to 1946. In addition to John Wild the club has had two other Society Captains, Allan Royle (1963/64) and Nayyar Naqvi (2001/02). Despite protestations from John Wild (and a few others) Wigan joined the conventional ranks in 2001 when 9 new holes were added on land donated by Dave Whelan.

CAPTAINS OF WIGAN GOLF CLUB
1898 A H Leech
1899 A H Leech
1900 J K Marshall
 1901  J K Marshall
1902 C M Brady
1903 H Siddall
1904 A E Ainsworth
1905 A P White
 1906  J M Boyd 
 1907  H Milligan 
 1908 W E McClure 
 1909 W W Dewse 
 1910 W S Watmough
 1911 W Wall 
 1912 S J Marsden
 1913 W S Waddington 
 1914 T Gerard 
 1915 J H Makinson 
 1916 J H Makinson 
 1917 J H Makinson
 1918 J H Makinson
 1919 J H Makinson
 1920 J Prestt 
 1921 B S Brown 
 1922 J G McConnell 
 1923 M Morton 
 1924 G A Christopher 
 1925 J A Melling 
 1926 T Wall 
 1927 F Gallagher 
 1928 A Scott 
 1929 A Brown
 1930 A T Brand 
 1931 J Livesey 
 1932 S J Marsden 
 1933 C H Sutcliffe 
 1934 F Percy 
 1935 R Wall 
 1936 J H Wrigley 
 1937 T C Robinson 
 1938 A T Pagett 
 1939 J Prestt 
 1940 J Prestt  
 1941 J Prestt 
 1942 J Prestt  
 1943 J Prestt  
 1944 J H Wrigley 
 1945 A W Cheetham 
 1946 P Wild 
 1947 P Wild 
 1948 R S Perkins 
 1949 J Anderson 
 1950 J Hegarty 
 1951 J P Conroy 
 1952 G Wood  
 1953 A Lees 
 1954 L A Pardey 
 1955 H D Hart 
 1956 A Royle 
 1957 R W Burney 
1958 A Kirk
 1959 A O Johnson 
 1960 G Brearley 
 1961 E G Davies
 1962 W A Ellsey 
 1963 F O Bullough 
 1964 C H Scott 
 1965 W Barton 
 1966 J R W Wild 
 1967 R P Heaton 
 1968 R F B Howarth 
 1969 E Houghton 
 1970 R Hargraves
 1971 H S Marwick 
 1972 H M N Smith 
 1973 W Southern 
 1974 G J Turner 
 1975 K H Grundy 
 1976 J A Aldridge 
 1977 T B Bond 
 1978 G A S Brown 
 1979 D A Pardey 
 1980 G W L Roach 
 1981 R B Edwards 
 1982 A J Massa 
 1983 N C Edgar 
 1984 H Mayhall 
 1985 C H Smith 
 1986 G J Davies 
 1987 T Nicholson 
 1988 J V Smith 
 1989 N Farrimond 
 1990 C Vincent 
 1991 P R Williams 
 1992 B Connolly 
 1993 H Lea 
 1994 N Naqvi 
 1995 M A Williams 
 1996 T Ham 
 1997 B T Ashcroft 
 1998 E Walmsey 
 1999 K J Norris 
 2000 A Dickinson 
 2001 J Atherton 
 2002 C J Lea 
 2003 J F Peacock 
 2004 E Roberts 
 2005 D P Arkwright
 2006 M Stretton 
 2007 T W Brown 
 2008 T J Dickinson 
 2009 I Pinkerton 
 2010 D B Bond 
 2011 J P W Sykes 
 2012 P Marwick 
 2013 R L Alker 
 2014 D G Brocklehurst 
 2015  B A Mort 
 2016  D A Hartley 
 2017 A Whittle 

 

 

 
Woolton Golf Club

The origin of Woolton Golf Club is traced to November 1900 when a group of Liverpool's leading citizens formed a liberal golf club whose membership would not be determined by colour, race or creed. This philosophy is demonstrated by the fact that by 1914 each of the Anglican, Jewish, Nonconformist and Roman Catholic faiths had been elected as Captain, following in the path of the first Captain of the club, Mr A P Eccles.

The name of Louis Samuel Cohen figures prominently in the early days and his initiative in buying 45 acres at Doe Park and renting it to the club provided the nucleus of the course as well as the clubhouse. In 1905 he generously cancelled a £6,000 mortgage deed following his year of Captaincy. He was also involved in 1906 when, according to legend, he "borrowed" the Saturday takings of Lewis's, the department store of which he was a director, to travel to London on the Monday morning to secure the purchase of the land to the north of Speke Road ahead of a competitor. This land enabled the club to operate 18 holes, including some fields rented from James Ashe. By 1923 the club had acquired the freehold of all of its land, including that of the historic clubhouse. The original building, Doe Park, was constructed as a private house in 1812 and was later extended under new owners in 1853 and 1866. It is not surprising that such an ancient building is expensive to maintain and a great deal of money has been spent by the club in adapting it for the use of the modern generation of golfers.

It is thought that the founders of the club had hoped to be able to extend the course in a southerly direction as far as the railway line at Hunts Cross but, sadly, this did not come to pass. Such an extension would have avoided the intrusion of Speke Road which has divided the course creating a potential hazard for members when crossing the road twice during a round. The club has also survived the threat of compulsory purchase for a road extension and discussed the possibility of relocating to a new site in Hale. After many hours of debate the decision was made to remain at Doe Park.

Woolton is rightly credited with the inspiration for the formation of our Society. On 18 June 1908 the Woolton Club entertained a group of Captains and Ex-Captains from other local clubs and the invitation was repeated in 1911 and again in 1912. The interruption of the First World War suspended all golfing activities until 1920 when Woolton again hosted the event. For a club that was only seven years old the hosting of the first Society competition was an act of confidence, inspired no doubt by the proliferation of new clubs that had been formed in the previous decade.

J F Clegg played a leading part in the development of the Society in the 1930s. A natural administrator, "Cleggie" had served Woolton as Hon Secretary, Captain (1922) and President and joined the Committee of the Society in 1930. He was immediately appointed Hon Secretary and held the position until 16 February 1939 when he was elected the first "Captain of Captains". Woolton has since provided two more Society Captains, Jack Abel (1966/67) and John Stoker (1992/93). Frank Fawcett was President of the English Golf Union in 1973 and has served as President of the Lancashire Union of Golf Clubs, an appointment also held by Paul Milne and Ken Johnson.

CAPTAINS OF WOOLTON GOLF CLUB
 1901 A P Eccles 
 1902 W W Goosage
 1903 A M Jackson 
 1904 L S Cohen 
 1905 T J McGeorge 
 1906 J W White 
 1907 J G Forster 
 1908 E Purgold 
 1909 N Gossage 
 1910 G Fitz-Brown 
 1911 S H Johnson 
 1912 W McKerrow 
 1913 H White 
 1914 F C Wilson 
 1915 J B Wilkie 
 1916 A G Dent 
 1917 A G Dent 
 1918 A G Dent 
 1919 D J W Orr
 1920 T S Wilson 
 1921 R D Cohen 
 1922 J F Clegg 
 1923 W R Davies 
 1924 G Harnden 
 1925 H J Davies 
 1926 Sir A Rushton 
 1927 H Bland 
 1928 P Priestly 
 1929 A E Noon 
 1930 J A Naylor 
 1931 R R Turnbull  
 1932 W Cunliffe 
 1933 J H Stoll 
 1934 G F Elsworth 
 1935 H W Thomson 
 1936 F Leech 
 1937 J H Troop  
 1938 W Fraser 
 1939 W Fraser  
 1940 W Fraser 
 1941 W Fraser  
 1942 J W Craig 
 1943 J W Craig  
 1944 J W Craig 
 1945 J W Craig 
 1946 K J Lyon 
 1947 W A J Parkinson 
 1948 W C Turner 
 1949 C S Freeman  
 1950 J K Abel 
 1951 A B Collins 
 1952 W M Inglis 
 1953 J P Jacobs 
 1954 F A Manners 
 1955 J C Sharp 
 1956 D D B Johnson 
 1957 T S Jones 
 1958 D D Allen 
 1959 N M Saul 
 1960 J Search 
 1961 A L Saul
 1962 A C Gilbert 
 1963 A Glynn Jones 
 1964 S B Levin 
 1965 F Fawcett 
 1966 A D McCready 
 1967 S J Reilly 
 1968 L Globe 
 1969 W L Dove 
 1970 W R Horn 
 1971 W D Corkish 
 1972 J Roberts 
 1973 H G A Almond 
 1974 A G Hirst 
 1975 K S Johnson 
 1976 C H Campbell 
 1977 J D Stoker 
 1978 F McNaughton 
 1979 F Powell 
 1980 R S Bangor-Jones 
 1981 R Webb 
 1982 W D Gregory 
 1983 J R Ingham 
 1984 G F I Wiggins 
 1985 J P Bevan 
 1986 J W R Mathews 
 1987 R B Ayers 
 1988 L A Stroud 
 1989 B E Case 
 1990 C S Sutton 
 1991 J O Lavelle 
 1992 W M Bickerstaffe 
 1993 J E Fischer 
 1994 A P Milne 
 1995 E G Kendall 
 1996 R Erskine 
 1997 L A Lippett 
 1998 D C Hughes 
 1999 D E Bell 
 2000 W C Batterton 
 2001 S G Bird 
 2002 A E Jenkins 
 2003 A G Connolly 
 2004 R T H Owen 
 2005 P Ellison 
 2006 D S Lindley 
 2007 M Furlong 
 2008 R J Little 
 2009 P H Mackay 
 2010 A J Blackburne 
 2011 P H Doyle 
 2012 J R Marsden 
 2013  S F Shotter 
 2014 D McCann 
 2015 W T M Roberts 
 2016 G D Williams 
 2017  E D Willcox 
   
   
   

Back to top of page

© Society of Liverpool Golf Captains  |  Disclaimer / Privacy  |  Login
CLUBView Content Management Provided by WEBCreative UK Ltd